Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
So good and so easy. Will definitely double the sauce next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I loved this recipe! I added fried tofu, red peppers, onions, and minced garlic. I used rice vinegar in place of the red wine vinegar, siracha sauce instead of a green chili, and sesame oil instead of chili oil. I also tripled the sauce because I added more stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feminiSh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Tasty, but very very spicy. It tased more like an ingredient than a main or side dish in and of itself. Very intense, but it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Great recipe and very quick. I added potatoes (yes, potatoes!) and they worked very well with the dish (they will have to be par-boiled first though). I also agree with others who added more chilies - this wasn't spicy enough as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
The sauce for this eggplant is divine! It is the perfect combination of soy, vinegar, sugar and chile peppers - who would have thought that these simple ingredients could form a perfect marriage of flavor? I did not change the sauce recipe at all, except for ingredients I didn't have on hand. But I used equivalents. I did not have fresh chile pepper, so I diced up a pickled jalapeno (discarded the seeds). I used potato starch instead of cornstarch, and I did not have chile oil so I used Spiracha chile sauce. I think this eggplant recipe stands on its own as a perfect vegetarian main or side dish. However, it would also pair up with either tofu, chicken, pork cubes, or ground pork, just as well. Today I wanted to make a heartier lunch, so I cubed up about 4 oz. of leftover pork loin with a tiny bit of minced onion, fresh garlic, and a bit of grated fresh ginger. I browned the pork, onions and garlic and ginger well, and set it aside in a bowl. I then proceeded to make the eggplant recipe as stated, and added the browned pork mixture at the end. It was mouth watering. I give this five stars for great flavor, simplicity, and versatility. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Delicious :) I've made this twice in two days! I did end up adding red bell peppers, garlic and onion.. but even without those I'm sure it would have still be great! The sauce is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I love this sauce! Instead of just using eggplant, I also added chicken, mushrooms, and bell peppers to have more of a balanced meal. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Not good at all. I don't know what happen, I followed it to a T but the eggplant was just wasn't good and I love eggplant. The sauce was good and had lots of flavor but I won't be making this again. To bad :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charamarie
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Absolutely excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is fantastic... both times I've made it, I didn't have any fresh chiles on hand, so I substituted a healthy tablespoon of sambal and it came out PERFECTLY. Highly recommended, will try again with a little ground chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noreen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States