Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bippi
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
The eggplant was perfect. The only method I changed was how I salted the eggplant. Instead of soaking it in salty water, I put the eggplant cubes in a colander and sprinkled salt over it. After half an hour, I rinsed the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bippi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Tried this recipe ,doubled, everyone loved it and ask for more.Not only i like this recipe, its now in my special book of recipes.Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
First off I made this recipe (as written) so many times last summer as a way to make use of our massive eggplant harvest. It is delicious and simple just the way it is. However, my husband and I live 40 minutes from town and sometimes I was out of one thing or another so I've made many substitutions that work just as well as the original. In place of the red wine vinegar I've had to use rice and white. Both tasted just as good as using the red. Apple cider vinegar didn't cut it though. It might be a food sin but in a pinch I've used bottled hot sauce for the fresh green chile pepper. I've left out the salt completely and mixed in just a drop of sesame oil for additional flavor. You can also halve the sugar. I've also added just a splash of water to thin the sauce itself and make it go farther. And heck over the winter with eggplant out of season, I've made the sauce and tossed it with cooked black soybeans to serve alongside fried rice (or even over spaghetti). The original recipe is AMAZING in addition to being adaptable and forgiving of tweaking. Sometimes I just make it as written. The point is don't be afraid to play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Yum! I used what I had: unpeeled regular eggplant cut into 1/2 x 1 x 2-inch slabs; and hot sauce instead of chile pepper and chili oil. it's a flexible recipe (some suggestions in other reviews look worth trying) that turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Maybe a 3.5 stars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This "Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant" is SO DELICIOUS! I can imagine so many different variations on the recipe using Asian ingredients (i.e. toasted sesame oil, chili pastes, sesame seeds, and ginger), but it is also so delicious as written. To address my food intolerances, I use GLUTEN-FREE TAMARI (instead of regular gluten-containing soy sauce) and replace the 1 tablespoon of sugar with 1 teaspoon of honey and leave out the cornstarch (so mine doesn't thicken, but is still good). Thank you Bonnie for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
5 stars for being delicious AND fast! It's a go-to for a workday lunch--I can get up, stretch, walk the dog, and still have time to make this from scratch before I go to work. I like to add peppers and cashews and finish with a sprinkle of sesame seeds and fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
It was nice, although the taste was bit different than I used to have it in China. I diced 2 cloves of garlic in there and toasted it at the end of the eggplants. I suggest you to cut the eggplants in a small size. In this way the eggplants absorbs the sauce lot better, and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This is SO delicious! Best eggplant recipe I have found. Added onion, garlic and bell pepper as some others had suggested and some fried tofu. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States