Hot and Sour Chicken and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is delicious! And easy to prepare. So tasty! I omit the fish sauce and lemon grass and I have used vegetable broth instead of chicken and added extra cabbage and sprouts. Thank you for sharing this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by skittles83
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
AWESOME! I didnt have any lemon grass so i didn't use any. I like my stuff sour so i added 2 more dashes of vinegar. I also used the lite version of soy sauce to cut back on the salt. I didnt have black pepper so I used white pepper.. I didnt use a whole tablespoon just about between 1/2 and 3/4 tbs. It smelled the rest of the soup so i added more garlic powder, minced and about 2 cups of the broth mixture. I accidently added a lil too much red pepper than i wanted so i scooped some out and cooked the chicken in the soup and used one small onion. Will definately make again and I will try to thicken it with arrowroot and water since most hot and sour soups at the restuarants are thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skittles83

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I thought I'd add that you can find fish sauce (sometimes called nam pla) in the Asian foods section of most supermarkets. I don't remember it as being particularly expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Very nice soup. Just what I was looking for! I'm eating it right now and it feels so good in my belly on a cold winter night. I followed the recipe except my grocer didn't have any bean sprouts today, so I'll have to try that next time. I also added one kefir lime leaf and cilantro instead of parsley because I prefer it. And I cooked the whole thing in my crock pot adding the egg and cilantro at the very end. Thanks for posting this wonderful soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMRAKAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
SENSATIONAL!!! I have nothing bad to say about this soup. I have made this countless times, and it still remains a family favorite. Very cheap and wonderfully delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calcifer'sKitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
With the addition of thickener(I used arrowroot starch, about 3 TBSP to keep it gluten free), this was an amazing soup that actually tasted very close to the "Chinese restaurant" version, albeit more healthy, and more flavorful. I make my own chicken broth by boiling down a chicken carcass; it creates a rich, nourishing broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I didn't have any lemon grass or parsley, and used balsamic vinegar instead, but it still turned out great, even if perhaps not as intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is a great recipe.I didn't put parsley and I made it with out the chicken because I used it as a side dish. Try really hard to find lemon grass, to me is very important , and the fish sauce too. I added some dried mushrooms. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
great! lots of sodium though.... I made my own chicken stock from a carcass we just finished, skimmed off the fat, and used the baked chicken scraps for the meat. boiled some "bean thread" for noodles and added ginger and broccoli. love the hot and sour broth! A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Tasty and satisfying. For my palate, it needed more vinegar and hot pepper flakes. I am not sure how much more I added, just kept adding until it was right for me. Double of both if I had to guess. I used bok choy instead of cabbage, only because that is what I had on hand. I added a pack of shitake mushrooms, and used Thai basil instead of parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States