Hot and Sour Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Good but not great. I used very lean ground turkey instead of pork & bamboo shoots instead of corn. Even though I used 4 ounces more meat than it called for there are a lot of veggies here & it does kind of get lost in the mix a bit. The broth came out real flavorful. I did cook the meat (with cayenne & ground ginger & a bit of soy sauce) before adding everything else- including more fresh ginger to the broth. EDIT: Upon further reflection I've decided to rate this 5 stars instead of just 4. I froze several pints of it and each time I thawed out another pint I found myself really enjoying it. I also think that my original statement that the meat "kind of gets lost" was probably because I didn't dig deep enough into the pot for the first bowl. Incredibly easy to make, extremely healthy (especially if you use lean ground turkey) and quite tasty- what more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Used red peppers and a bag of pea pods in place of corn and mushrooms. Also added an extra quarter cup of vinegar-less red pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Fantastic! Hubby and I did a taste test and ended up adding a little more szechuan and a few more squirts of soy sauce for more flavor. Also browned the pork in the sesame oil, and left out the corn. Added thin sliced onion, snap peas, and a few carrot strips for color. Saved the green onion to top the soup once served. Next time I will add some straw mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I looked up a recipe to use leftover cabbage and it worked very well. It was well liked and had just enough kick to make it interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kremlin, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I didn't have any pork so I stirred in about two tsp of bacon grease to get a little pork flavor, and wasn't sure what the Szechuan sauce was so I used the Srirachi rooster sauce (lots!). Very tasty and easy. I will definitely be making it again. I will probably make the broth with no meat/veggies when I'm craving something quick and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This stuff is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crowhole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
OMG this was unbelievably awesome.. i used ground turkey instead of pork, browned the turkey with the onions in the sesame oil first then added the rest, didn't have the bean sprouts or the corn, used powdered ginger instead of fresh, used the rooster hot sauce for the szechwan, used chicken bouillon instead of the canned stuff.. this was super super good.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was great! Made it exactly as the recipe states and was blown away by how great the flavors came together. Even the kids like it and they don't like much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bumprunz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I made this last night and we were both so impressed with this recipe. I made a few minor changes, mainly adjusting quantities of cabbage, mushrooms etc. I used ground turkey instead of pork and chili paste instead of Szechwan sauce. It has a nice kick and just the right amount of sour. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
We enjoyed the soup quite a bit. Had to make some modifications due to what was available, but still a very good soup. We made the soup a day before and it definitely needed the time for all the flavors to blend. A day later was a much better soup than during and right after cooking. Used turkey broth and ham from Thanksgiving, about 1.5 lbs, but turned out very tasty. The spiciness was good for me, but my wife had to tone it down with cottage cheese. We also use cilantro instead of green onion. I would make this again as I'm a soup lover and like the flavors. Hopefully chicken broth and sausage will make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States