Horseshoe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Not my thing. Definitely not worth the cost of cheese. Or the calories for that matter. Others I served it to, liked it though. I used the rest of the cheese sauce for mac and cheese. Added dry mustard, ground white pepper and fresh parsley. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turku, Varsinais-Suomi, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
We tried making the cheese twice, exactly by the recipe. It came out as less of a *sauce*, and more of a rubbery blob. It doesn't taste good. Is there something wrong with our method/execution?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetsuzey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
This is the first time I have seen the recipe anywhere. My family is from Springfield and I had this at the one restaurant there and when I make it I just put it together as I remembered it as a kid. So nice to finally have the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I made this last nite it was DELICIOUS !!!!! I made loose meat recipe ..... I layered toast, meat, & than I poured on the cheese sauce !!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I'm from Spfld, IL and have been making horseshoes for years - it's easy! The orig recipe by kehn is good, but I'm listing some additional tips. You can use any type of meat, and season the meat how you always would. Hamburger is most popular, but you can also use ham, grilled or breaded chicken breasts, crispy bacon, shrimp, Italian beef - it's up to you. (This is an excellent recipe for any leftover meat!) You also choose the bread (white, wheat, etc.), just make sure it's toasted. Make your favorite type of fries - we prefer the skinny straight ones. And because these are so filling, you can make a ponyshoe instead of a horse (one piece of bread instead of 2.) As listed in kehn's recipe, you're going to make a basic white sauce - I use 2 cups milk (you choose the type, they all work fine - skim, whole, half n half), 3 tbs flour and 3 tbs. butter. Once the white sauce is made, you're going to add a few things to make it the "horseshoe" sauce. First stir in 2-3 Tbs Worcestershire sauce, then (and this is a must!) stir in a DROP of real mustard (not dry mustard). Lastly stir in the cheese. I have friends who add 2-3 Tbs of Velveeta or Cheese Whiz to the sauce, but I use shredded cheddar, stirring until completely melted. (Use S&P to taste.) The original recipe by kehn is close, but you definitely have to add the Worcestershire sauce and the mustard to make it even yummier! I also agree with another reviewer that D'Arcy's Pint makes the best, so visit Spfld! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by courtney
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I tried this recipe and I was shocked at how good it was and how easy it is to fix it was definitely yummy to my tummy will keep this recipe handy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I went to college just west of Springfield, and there I had my first horseshoe. Glad this recipe helped me recreate the meal for my family in Ohio!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
If you want the best Horseshoe, visit D'Arcy's Pint in Springfield, IL! They may even share their recipe with you. There is also a cookbook put out by the Springfield, IL Junior League that has an EXCELLENT recipe for horseshoes. I actually use THAT cheese sauce recipe for my baked Mac n Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
We thought this was great! I can see how some thought it was a bit bland, though...I added some garlic powder to the cheese mixture, and seasoned the burger patties w/ salt, pepper and garlic powder before cooking. I used Ore-Ida Seasoned Crinkles for the fries, and they gave a nice flavor to the dish. served this over buttered/toasted burger buns. This was very tasty, and as we were eating, we were coming up w/ other add-ons like sauteed onios, bacon and tomato slices, all of which I plan to try next time! I will def be making this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States