Horseshoe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I went to college just west of Springfield, and there I had my first horseshoe. Glad this recipe helped me recreate the meal for my family in Ohio!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
If you want the best Horseshoe, visit D'Arcy's Pint in Springfield, IL! They may even share their recipe with you. There is also a cookbook put out by the Springfield, IL Junior League that has an EXCELLENT recipe for horseshoes. I actually use THAT cheese sauce recipe for my baked Mac n Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
We thought this was great! I can see how some thought it was a bit bland, though...I added some garlic powder to the cheese mixture, and seasoned the burger patties w/ salt, pepper and garlic powder before cooking. I used Ore-Ida Seasoned Crinkles for the fries, and they gave a nice flavor to the dish. served this over buttered/toasted burger buns. This was very tasty, and as we were eating, we were coming up w/ other add-ons like sauteed onios, bacon and tomato slices, all of which I plan to try next time! I will def be making this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
...for true D'Arcy's Pub, Springfield IL taste, you MUST use Wisconsin White Cheddar for the cheese.....I also season the beef patties with Lawrey's Salt and Mc Cormick's California Garlic Powder with Parsley, but I always put that in my burgers. My fry of choice is the shoestring, more surface to hold the crispiness under that beautiful cheese sauce...bon appetit! (i gave 4 stars due to lack of healthiness only, i mean, come on, 1/2lb of burger per person??? Still, 5 star taste!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Brannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Very good, exactly like the horseshoe we had in Springfield! Except the cheese sauce was way better! I used Lousianna hot sauce and it was perfect - the whole family loved it but it is a heart attack on a plate! So can't have it too often! We also added bacon and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I am a retired chef from Springfield and now live in Indiana . I make these every once in a while for my husband and son. I use the white american cheese that you get at the deli and always use milk. Also, it is tradition to sprinkle a little paprika on top. I don't think you need to use so much butter and flour. I use about 2 Tbs. butter and 2 Tbs. flour for every 2 C. of liquid. Remember, the cheese is going to make the sauce thicker. You can use any meat you like or even a grilled portabella mushroom. I agree with a lot of reviews that you need to season your meat but don't add much else to sauce except a dash worcestershire or else it's not a horseshoe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
very bland and the cheese got grainy when it cooled a bit on the plate. I have 5 kids and nobody liked it, but it was edible. We did not however add hot sauce. I added it to my personal plate along with a pile of jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Holy cats was this good! A once in a blue moon recipe as it's loaded with calories...but OH so GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Try the bitesize shrimp in place of hamburger or turkey and when in a hurry I use Campbell's Cheddar Cheese Soup in place of that in the recipe. If you think it is too bland, you are not using enough hot sauce. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States