Horseshoe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I submitted this recipe and since then have used another cheese sauce that I like better. Saute in 6 Tbsp butter, 1/4 of a onion chop fine and 1/4 of bell pepper chop fine. I cook it in a double boiler to keep cheese from burning. Add 1 1/2 cups water, pound of velveeta chopped, and to thicken sauce dissolve Tbsp cornstarch in cold water and add to sauce. With this sauce if you have any leftover its good as a dip for chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I made this tonight and it was really good. The cheese sauce was superlative. I used cayenne instead of hot sauce because I prefer its kind of heat, and I added a splash of worchestershire sauce. Also, I mixed some garlic powder, Lawry's season salt and pepper in with the meat because I don't like the taste of plain, unseasoned ground beef. That's just personal preference and no reflection on the recipe. My husband refused to let me put his french fries on top of his meat, so I served them on the side. But we did pour the cheese sauce all over everything. This was very filling and good. I'll be making this cheese sauce for other things as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I'm so happy that someone posted this recipe!! Horseshoe's are the best and this recipe is great. If you like hamburgers and cheese fries you definitely need to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Fowles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Very good recipe, and pretty close to the classic sauce served here in Springfield, IL. For those who might want a bit of a bite to the sauce, try adding a small amount of worstershire sauce. That's what the locals do and its just enough to take away any blandness of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Great recipe. Had an in-law in Springfield that everyone hated, but the one bright spot to going down there was the Horseshoe. If you add splashes of Worcestershire and a full bodied beer, you really get an authentic taste just like my favorite joint down there. I'm sooo not a food snob but agree w/ other comment - cheese wiz, ketchup, mustard, chipotle, mayo....NOT a horseshoe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Good recipe! Use a steamburger or loose meat sandwich on a bun instead of a hamburger patty on toast & you have a magic mountain. Top a magic mountain with chili & you get a volcano. And heartburn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Very excited to see this recipe! I lived in Springfield and this recipe is a family favorite! But, omg!, to hear someone saying they are using "cheese wiz out of a jar" instead of making the cheese sauce! That is NOT a horseshoe! So please follow the recipe,stir the mixture slowly and give it time and you will be rewarded with a fabulous sauce to pour over your hamburger, shaved turkey or shaved ham with french fries! Now someone please put the recipe for the spring rolls from the Springfield Thai restaurant! yummmmm I do miss the great places to eat in Springfield!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Good but not great. The sauce in the recipe is too bland and too thick. Try this dish with Texas toast and a Welsh Rarebit sauce made with Irish ale. Almost as if you had ordered it from D'Arcy's Pint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
We didn't really like this. It was very bland and definitely not worth the calories. In the future when I have a craving for the ingredients in this recipe I will just stick with a regular cheese burger and french fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Pretty tasty! I've had horseshoes in Springfield before and these aren't *quite* as good, but close. First of all, I cut the recipe in half and that was plenty for 2 of us. One slice of bread with all the fixings (a ponyshoe) was more than enough for each of us. Secondly, I wish I would have cut the cheese sauce down even further because there was SO much of it! I used a pretty liberal amount and still have tons left over. Instead of half and half, I used 1% milk. Third, I seasoned the patties with onion powder, garlic powder, and black pepper to add some more flavor. Finally, the cheese sauce wasn't really doing it for me as written. I splashed in some worcestershire, which gave it a nice boost. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States