Horseshoe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I'm so happy that someone posted this recipe!! Horseshoe's are the best and this recipe is great. If you like hamburgers and cheese fries you definitely need to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
these were pretty good. My hubby made the suggestion when I make them again is to warm some cheese from a jar instead of making the cheese sauce from scratch. and I spread ketchup and mustard on the bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBOEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I made this tonight and it was really good. The cheese sauce was superlative. I used cayenne instead of hot sauce because I prefer its kind of heat, and I added a splash of worchestershire sauce. Also, I mixed some garlic powder, Lawry's season salt and pepper in with the meat because I don't like the taste of plain, unseasoned ground beef. That's just personal preference and no reflection on the recipe. My husband refused to let me put his french fries on top of his meat, so I served them on the side. But we did pour the cheese sauce all over everything. This was very filling and good. I'll be making this cheese sauce for other things as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
These were so good. If you live in Illinois you'll know what I mean. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I've never had Horseshoe before, never heard of it actually. But it was the perfect compliment while watching the Bears game. Technically I made the ponyshoe, and it was filling on it's own. I don't think I could eat a whole horseshoe. Always a joy to try something new, thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Awesome. i used cheese whiz instead of making the cheese sauce from scratch. -p.s.sorry Chicago- i love the stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN DOWNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
As a former Springfield, Ill resident this is the one food I missed the most. Try it with Shrimp or Ham too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Hooray for hoseshoes! My grandparents live in Springfield, and every summer when we went to visit, we always went out at least once to get horseshoe sandwiches. Great memories and great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was so good! My husband loved it. Instead of half-and-half I used Fat Free Skim milk. Also there was way too much cheese sauce. Next time I will cut it in half. Very tasty meal, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Good recipe! Use a steamburger or loose meat sandwich on a bun instead of a hamburger patty on toast & you have a magic mountain. Top a magic mountain with chili & you get a volcano. And heartburn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States