Horseshoe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I am not sure if I did something wrong but my cheese sauce turned out very thick and sticky. I had to add milk to make it "sauce". Other than that this was very good. I would make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tresa Brummett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
We had these Sunday night and they were great! This was a really fun supper. I bought a jar of Cheese Whiz and melted this for the cheese topping. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Earlham, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Hamburger: 1/2 cup finely diced onion. 1 Tbsp Jack Daniels steak sauce. 1 tsp minced garlic. S&P. Made on George Foreman grill. Cheese sauce: added 1/4-1/2 tsp chipotle seasoning. Used homemade honey whole wheat bread toast. Added mayo to toast, before burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This made a really good dinner tonight. It only took thirty min. and was very filling. I put the meat between two pieces of waxed paper and used a rolling pin to make a rectangle then I simply cut into 4 square patties with my cooking shears. They came perfectly sized for the toasted bread. It was so easy to get the super thin patties into the pan from the paper. I sprinkled the patties with tiny bit of krazy salt and pepper. This did make more cheese sauce than we needed. We had never heard of horseshoe before and we all enjoyed this dish. "Tasty and out of the ordinary" and "I think I kinda liked it" were my hubby's comments. I will make this again! Thanks Kehn for sharing your local favorite so we could all enjoy!!! This gets a five for ease of prep, ingredients ordinarily avail, fast from start to table, flavor, and just being a comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Good recipe! Use a steamburger or loose meat sandwich on a bun instead of a hamburger patty on toast & you have a magic mountain. Top a magic mountain with chili & you get a volcano. And heartburn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was so good! My husband loved it. Instead of half-and-half I used Fat Free Skim milk. Also there was way too much cheese sauce. Next time I will cut it in half. Very tasty meal, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Hooray for hoseshoes! My grandparents live in Springfield, and every summer when we went to visit, we always went out at least once to get horseshoe sandwiches. Great memories and great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
As a former Springfield, Ill resident this is the one food I missed the most. Try it with Shrimp or Ham too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Awesome. i used cheese whiz instead of making the cheese sauce from scratch. -p.s.sorry Chicago- i love the stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I've never had Horseshoe before, never heard of it actually. But it was the perfect compliment while watching the Bears game. Technically I made the ponyshoe, and it was filling on it's own. I don't think I could eat a whole horseshoe. Always a joy to try something new, thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States