Horseshoe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was bland and dry. It was not so much a cheese sauce but cheese gravy. Not good....I considered saving the leftover sauce to use as a base for macc and cheese but hubby said no. What a waste of all that cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Tried this recipe because I saw an episode of Diners, Dives and Drive-Ins where they made Horseshoes and they looked so good. Giving this a 4 as the sauce came out very, very thick even with following the directions - but I'm sure I did something wrong and it was my fault? I cooked our fries a little too crispy so I'll cook them a little less next time. Any tips on how to make the sauce come out a little thinner? I was out of milk so added 2 Tbsp. sour cream but that didn't help much. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Not being from the Midwest, I'd never heard of these before,and they turned out to be really good! We made the cheese sauce as written, but we added mayo and onions. I really thought it was WAY too much food for two people---this feeds at least four!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was just ok for us. I deviated from the recipe only to add a dash of garlic and worcestershire sauce to the cheese sauce, and I used sharp cheddar. I did serve with sauteed mushrooms, onions, and peppers, also. It just seems to be lacking in something, and it's a lot of effort to put into something that's mediocre for our tastes. It was fun to try, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Kewl that this originated in Springfield, the city I was born in! I have only seen them in Quincy, Illinois (where I grew up) and figured that was where they originated. Horseshoes and ponyshoes are also made of pulled pork there. My favorite is at O'Griff's Bar & Grill and are made with seasoned curly fries, pulled pork, shredded cheeese(melted over it) and drizzled with yummy barbeque sauce. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Mixed reviews at our table, but I thought they were pretty good. Served with broccoli, using the cheese sauce. We had just been discussing how to make a cheese sauce that was better than Velveeta. Now I know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Each of us having only one 'sandwich' each was totally filling! Two is too much for one person. These were good, though. The sauce, I thought, was very light and fluffy. Was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Close if you are interested though I have the Original recipe from the Leland Hotel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
My kids really like this recipe. they say it is better than what they serve at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I made this for my husband and I the other night and we thought it was pretty good, but not outstanding. I also seasoned the beef with some Montreal steak spice to give it a little kick, I made my own (deep fried) french fries and I used milk instead of cream for the cheese sauce. We found it all a little bit bland, so if I do make it again, I'll likely add some pepper jack cheese and parmesan to jazz up the cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States