Horseshoe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was just ok for us. I deviated from the recipe only to add a dash of garlic and worcestershire sauce to the cheese sauce, and I used sharp cheddar. I did serve with sauteed mushrooms, onions, and peppers, also. It just seems to be lacking in something, and it's a lot of effort to put into something that's mediocre for our tastes. It was fun to try, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Kewl that this originated in Springfield, the city I was born in! I have only seen them in Quincy, Illinois (where I grew up) and figured that was where they originated. Horseshoes and ponyshoes are also made of pulled pork there. My favorite is at O'Griff's Bar & Grill and are made with seasoned curly fries, pulled pork, shredded cheeese(melted over it) and drizzled with yummy barbeque sauce. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Mixed reviews at our table, but I thought they were pretty good. Served with broccoli, using the cheese sauce. We had just been discussing how to make a cheese sauce that was better than Velveeta. Now I know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Each of us having only one 'sandwich' each was totally filling! Two is too much for one person. These were good, though. The sauce, I thought, was very light and fluffy. Was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Close if you are interested though I have the Original recipe from the Leland Hotel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
My kids really like this recipe. they say it is better than what they serve at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I made this for my husband and I the other night and we thought it was pretty good, but not outstanding. I also seasoned the beef with some Montreal steak spice to give it a little kick, I made my own (deep fried) french fries and I used milk instead of cream for the cheese sauce. We found it all a little bit bland, so if I do make it again, I'll likely add some pepper jack cheese and parmesan to jazz up the cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This cheese sauce is amazing! Cheez Whiz can't even begin to compare, so definitely take the time to make the sauce. The hamburgers were bland, so next time I'll season them up tons. I used extra crispy french fries so they would hold up better under the sauce. I also didn't use cream to make the sauce, plain old milk works fine. These are so good, I'm debating making them again for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Great recipe. Had an in-law in Springfield that everyone hated, but the one bright spot to going down there was the Horseshoe. If you add splashes of Worcestershire and a full bodied beer, you really get an authentic taste just like my favorite joint down there. I'm sooo not a food snob but agree w/ other comment - cheese wiz, ketchup, mustard, chipotle, mayo....NOT a horseshoe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Very excited to see this recipe! I lived in Springfield and this recipe is a family favorite! But, omg!, to hear someone saying they are using "cheese wiz out of a jar" instead of making the cheese sauce! That is NOT a horseshoe! So please follow the recipe,stir the mixture slowly and give it time and you will be rewarded with a fabulous sauce to pour over your hamburger, shaved turkey or shaved ham with french fries! Now someone please put the recipe for the spring rolls from the Springfield Thai restaurant! yummmmm I do miss the great places to eat in Springfield!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States