Horseshoe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Pretty tasty! I've had horseshoes in Springfield before and these aren't *quite* as good, but close. First of all, I cut the recipe in half and that was plenty for 2 of us. One slice of bread with all the fixings (a ponyshoe) was more than enough for each of us. Secondly, I wish I would have cut the cheese sauce down even further because there was SO much of it! I used a pretty liberal amount and still have tons left over. Instead of half and half, I used 1% milk. Third, I seasoned the patties with onion powder, garlic powder, and black pepper to add some more flavor. Finally, the cheese sauce wasn't really doing it for me as written. I splashed in some worcestershire, which gave it a nice boost. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
this wasn't terrible, but wasn't a homerun either. could be improved with tastier cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
great cheese sauce! I love it with my fries extra crispy. There are so many variations on this recipe at local resteraunts here you can find at least 10-20 variations. I love the breakfast type with ham or bacon covered on hashbrowns and cheese sauce on a bed of toast. There is one resteraunt that has a Shrimp variation with what I think is some type of a parmesean cheese sauce, it is amazing! Have fun with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I went to college near Springfield and had completely forgotten about this wonderful (albeit unhealthy) delicacy! Indeed a splash of worchestershire sauce is necessary, and I prefer mine made with sliced deli turkey. My kids can't believe I have waited 15 years to share this wonderful dish with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hillsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pulaski, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was bland and dry. It was not so much a cheese sauce but cheese gravy. Not good....I considered saving the leftover sauce to use as a base for macc and cheese but hubby said no. What a waste of all that cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Tried this recipe because I saw an episode of Diners, Dives and Drive-Ins where they made Horseshoes and they looked so good. Giving this a 4 as the sauce came out very, very thick even with following the directions - but I'm sure I did something wrong and it was my fault? I cooked our fries a little too crispy so I'll cook them a little less next time. Any tips on how to make the sauce come out a little thinner? I was out of milk so added 2 Tbsp. sour cream but that didn't help much. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Not being from the Midwest, I'd never heard of these before,and they turned out to be really good! We made the cheese sauce as written, but we added mayo and onions. I really thought it was WAY too much food for two people---this feeds at least four!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was just ok for us. I deviated from the recipe only to add a dash of garlic and worcestershire sauce to the cheese sauce, and I used sharp cheddar. I did serve with sauteed mushrooms, onions, and peppers, also. It just seems to be lacking in something, and it's a lot of effort to put into something that's mediocre for our tastes. It was fun to try, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Kewl that this originated in Springfield, the city I was born in! I have only seen them in Quincy, Illinois (where I grew up) and figured that was where they originated. Horseshoes and ponyshoes are also made of pulled pork there. My favorite is at O'Griff's Bar & Grill and are made with seasoned curly fries, pulled pork, shredded cheeese(melted over it) and drizzled with yummy barbeque sauce. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Mixed reviews at our table, but I thought they were pretty good. Served with broccoli, using the cheese sauce. We had just been discussing how to make a cheese sauce that was better than Velveeta. Now I know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States