Horseshoe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
awesome sauce with endless possibility.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wethyr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
We live in Springfield, and this recipe seems pretty accurate. I suggest adding 1/4 to 1/3 cup of worcestershire to the cheese sauce to give it a more authentic flavor. This worked really well with grilled chicken breast tenders in stead of ground beef for a bit lighter option too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Very good recipe, and pretty close to the classic sauce served here in Springfield, IL. For those who might want a bit of a bite to the sauce, try adding a small amount of worstershire sauce. That's what the locals do and its just enough to take away any blandness of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Good but not great. The sauce in the recipe is too bland and too thick. Try this dish with Texas toast and a Welsh Rarebit sauce made with Irish ale. Almost as if you had ordered it from D'Arcy's Pint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
We didn't really like this. It was very bland and definitely not worth the calories. In the future when I have a craving for the ingredients in this recipe I will just stick with a regular cheese burger and french fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Cheese was still too floury even after whisking several minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was ok. It was almost too heavy of a sauce for me and I love cheese! Not sure if I will make again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I submitted this recipe and since then have used another cheese sauce that I like better. Saute in 6 Tbsp butter, 1/4 of a onion chop fine and 1/4 of bell pepper chop fine. I cook it in a double boiler to keep cheese from burning. Add 1 1/2 cups water, pound of velveeta chopped, and to thicken sauce dissolve Tbsp cornstarch in cold water and add to sauce. With this sauce if you have any leftover its good as a dip for chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was good! I used milk instead of the 1/2 and 1/2 because that is what I had on hand. I also added a slice of sweet onion between the beef patty and bread. Very Savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States