Horseshoe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I am a retired chef from Springfield and now live in Indiana . I make these every once in a while for my husband and son. I use the white american cheese that you get at the deli and always use milk. Also, it is tradition to sprinkle a little paprika on top. I don't think you need to use so much butter and flour. I use about 2 Tbs. butter and 2 Tbs. flour for every 2 C. of liquid. Remember, the cheese is going to make the sauce thicker. You can use any meat you like or even a grilled portabella mushroom. I agree with a lot of reviews that you need to season your meat but don't add much else to sauce except a dash worcestershire or else it's not a horseshoe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
very bland and the cheese got grainy when it cooled a bit on the plate. I have 5 kids and nobody liked it, but it was edible. We did not however add hot sauce. I added it to my personal plate along with a pile of jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Holy cats was this good! A once in a blue moon recipe as it's loaded with calories...but OH so GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Try the bitesize shrimp in place of hamburger or turkey and when in a hurry I use Campbell's Cheddar Cheese Soup in place of that in the recipe. If you think it is too bland, you are not using enough hot sauce. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
awesome sauce with endless possibility.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wethyr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
We live in Springfield, and this recipe seems pretty accurate. I suggest adding 1/4 to 1/3 cup of worcestershire to the cheese sauce to give it a more authentic flavor. This worked really well with grilled chicken breast tenders in stead of ground beef for a bit lighter option too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Very good recipe, and pretty close to the classic sauce served here in Springfield, IL. For those who might want a bit of a bite to the sauce, try adding a small amount of worstershire sauce. That's what the locals do and its just enough to take away any blandness of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Good but not great. The sauce in the recipe is too bland and too thick. Try this dish with Texas toast and a Welsh Rarebit sauce made with Irish ale. Almost as if you had ordered it from D'Arcy's Pint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
We didn't really like this. It was very bland and definitely not worth the calories. In the future when I have a craving for the ingredients in this recipe I will just stick with a regular cheese burger and french fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Cheese was still too floury even after whisking several minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States