Horseradish Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This is one of the best jello salad's we have eaten. My family beg for it and always chide me for that zippy ingredient(horseradish). I take it to church functions and they always ask for the recipe. I first tasted this delicious salad at a tiny cafe in Henrietta, Mo and have since sought the recipe...Thank you June Pelo for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This is absolutely DELICIOUS! The horseradish is more like a "secret" ingredient. I've been trying lime jello salads for years trying to find the one my mom use to make. I think this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Even after cutting back on the mayo and leaving out the nuts, this is still a fabulous salad. Not too sweet and not too savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I can't get over how good this is! You can even make it sugar-free, thanks to Splenda. It's a year 'round favorite at our house! I don't change a thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I first had this years and years ago and could have eaten most of it myself. I'm so happy to have found it again. Just try it and I'll bet it will be a favorite for you too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I like jello salads and was looking for something different. I thought it sounded a little odd, but with the good reviews decided to give it a chance. Not good!!! The mayo flavor is too strong and the horseradish is just plain gross. It was not even good enough to suffer through. I ate one serving and threw it out. And I won't even tell you what my husband and children said about it ;-) Unless you're actually looking for this recipe, don't try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Very tasty. My children are not fond of any sort of jello salad and would not eat it, so I had it every day for a week until it was gone and I did not tire of it. I used ground horseradish from the store, not a creamy preparation, and it was not too strong. In fact no one could guess the mystery ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEKAE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Too much mayo, for taste and fat. Kids wouldn't eat, maybe if it had been sweeter? Thought I remembered this from childhood, but didn't hit the mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Tasty. I was looking for a recipe like my sister has which has layers. I tried to layer, and it tasted good, but the texture was off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
delish!! love the addition of the horseradish which gives it that unique flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

JELL-O Creepy Crawly JIGGLERS

See how to turn JELL-O gelatin into frightfully fun Halloween spiders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States