Horseradish Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
I was so excited about making this dip for my boyfriend. "Who" loves any kind of crab recipe. This was a disappointment for myself and to him. Maybe if there was less horseradish added the dip would be good. I will never make it again to find out!!! This was a waste of money and crab!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEASHELL271

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
To quote my father's favorite compliment for food, "This is disgusting -- I can't stop eating it!" This is so delicious, and it's not safe in this house! Upon the advice of a previous reviewer, I tried adding 1 tsp. of horseradish instead of a tablespoon, but I could hardly taste it so I think next time I'll try it as it's written. I also added a few dashes of Old Bay Seasoning. Fantastic -- and I need to tie myself to my chair because I want to finish it off right now. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYCALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Very quick and easy but a little bland. Needs some more spice to it. Perhaps some garlic and cayenne pepper or old bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I wish that I had read the reviews first. It was bland and poorly consumed by my guests. I'll bet the Old Bay makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This dip needed a little more pizazz. I liked that it was fast and easy, and made in the microwave, but it needed garlic or seasonings or cheese, or SOMETHING else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Fantastic! Easy to make and delicious to eat. It wasn't quite as spicy as I thought it would be so you may want to add a little more horseradish for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Good base recipe. I agree with some comments about it lacking something, and I added both the horseradish, and a lot of old bay. But it gets you going in the right direction. My wife took the left overs and wrapped them in wonton, fried them in some hot oil for 5 or 10 mins, and served them with a 50/50 mix of hot chili sauce and duck sauce for dipping.....PHENOMINAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
HUGE crab fan i could eat it every day!!! the key to this recipe is the crab you use i suggest lump crab meat ( pricey but worth it ) also serve with cocktail sauce !!! Mmmm good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This is really bland. I added Old Bay, garlic powder, more worcestershire sauce- nothing helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Thought it was a bit bland, we love horseradish so not enough tang for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debi210

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States