Horseradish Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is a pretty good burger if you like A1. My husband is a huge fan of A1 (I am admittedly not) so I thought I'd give these a try because I love horseradish. The one drawback here is the directions on this one are really confusing! I think that's why so many of the reviewers had trouble with them and ended up adding eggs and bread crumbs to the mixture to hold the burgers together which is not what the submitter intended. I had one pound of ground beef (wasn't able to scale the recipe back) so here's what I did: I used 2 Tbsp. of A1, 1 & 1/2 tsp. of horseradish sauce, 1 tsp. parsley, 1 Tbsp. green onion, and 1 tsp. of Montreal Steak seasoning for good measure. Once the patties were made (got 3) I let them set in the fridge for an hour to let the flavors blend together. We put them on the grill and basted them with some additional A1 as the recipe states and man did these smell good! They held together just fine. We topped them with the Muenster cheese and a horseradish sauce that I made: light mayo, horseradish, dijon mustard, a squirt of lemon juice, and some crumbled bacon bits. I think my husband was in A1 heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Sorry for the confusion with this recipe. You do not mix the remaining steak sauce into the ground beef. Use it as a baste while the burgers are grilling. When they're done, top with horseradish mixture. "Thick & Hearty" sauce works best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Tasty. I mixed the ingredients in with the beef before making the burgers. As mentioned by others, very difficult to keep together. Might make a good meat loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Litchfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
These were ok. They were a little to tangy for me. I added an egg and a little bread crumbs, and they still were hard to keep together on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Taste of the burgers was good, but I had a difficult time getting them to stay together on the grill. They crumbled very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNETTA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I made a few small changes to this recipe and it came out GREAT! I added 2 eggs to help them stay together better and replaced the steak sauce with the new THICK worcestershire by lea and perrins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catareen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Really good and easy. Cooked them under the broiler since we just got 1 foot of snow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
These were good burgers and easy to throw together. With the addition of two eggs I did not have much trouble keeping the burgers together, the important thing is to flip them infrequently. Not sure how much I loved the taste of the steak sauce, but then again I'm not a steak sauce lover. It was well recieved by everyone at the table, and will probably be prepared again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Made for Recipe Group. I was expecting this to have the ingredients mixed into the beef. That is not how the recipe actually reads however. Hubby and son said it was good, I didn't think it was worth all the effort. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...We really, REALLY enjoyed these...A LOT! I cut the recipe in 1/2, but that was my only change. I used the 'thick and hearty' steak sauce, as suggested by the submitter...GREAT flavor! The sauce was a little on the thin side, which is my only complaint, but it was fine and so tasty on top of the burgers. I also put lettuce and tomatoes on the burgers. I will def be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States