Hornets Nest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
this recipe is great, it was really easy to make and tastes good too, the perfect cake for a gathering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
This cake tastes wonderful and is really easy. The instructions are written a little confusing, I think. You need to mix the cake mix batter as written on the instruction box and then add the pudding. It sounded to me like you add the yellow cake mix powder to the pudding. I figured it out when the mass looked strange :-) Good cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
This is a great cake! There is never any left over and I get requests all the time to make it. The best part is it is so easy! Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This is a delicious sweet brownie-type dessert! Anyone who can't make this one right did not follow the directions. COOK the pudding on the stove and then add the box of cake mix. I don't like walnuts so I used two different ingredients: toffee pieces and crushed Frosted Flakes. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamcastle
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I made this cake with only the exception of using white chocolate/chocolate chips instead of butterscotch chips. It was a hit and the cake was eaten with in a day. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcastle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was surprisingly easy and very yummy. My sister in law melted a layer of sweet chocolate and then the chips. So very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I have made this recipe three times and now it is my favorite cake. It is so moist, chewy and rich. You'll love it! Be careful not to over bake though, or it will dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by librachica5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made this exactly as the recipe states. This was delicious. It was even better after being refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is my 21-year-old son's enduring favorite. He requests it for almost any occasion...even tailgating for college football games! I too got the recipe originally from the Cake Doctor's cookbook, and the only changes I've made from this recipe are using instant vanilla pudding and adding whatever chips I have on hand - chocolate, butterscotch, peanut butter...it's all good! Oh, and I use pecans most of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I agree with others, this recipe works as long as you follow it. The batter seemed thick, but it turned out awesome. Got rave reviews. The only alteration I made was witholding the nuts and putting more chips on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States