Hornets Nest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
This is a great cake! There is never any left over and I get requests all the time to make it. The best part is it is so easy! Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
This cake tastes wonderful and is really easy. The instructions are written a little confusing, I think. You need to mix the cake mix batter as written on the instruction box and then add the pudding. It sounded to me like you add the yellow cake mix powder to the pudding. I figured it out when the mass looked strange :-) Good cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
The recipe was really easy to make, but we were totally unhappy with the results. The nuts didn't sink in, while the butterscotch chips sank all the way to the bottom and turned it into a thick gooey mess. Next time I want something with butterscotch I'll stick to cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This is a delicious sweet brownie-type dessert! Anyone who can't make this one right did not follow the directions. COOK the pudding on the stove and then add the box of cake mix. I don't like walnuts so I used two different ingredients: toffee pieces and crushed Frosted Flakes. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
Great cake, looks and tastes good. Easy to make for last minute guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
this recipe is great, it was really easy to make and tastes good too, the perfect cake for a gathering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamcastle
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I made this cake with only the exception of using white chocolate/chocolate chips instead of butterscotch chips. It was a hit and the cake was eaten with in a day. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcastle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was surprisingly easy and very yummy. My sister in law melted a layer of sweet chocolate and then the chips. So very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I have made this recipe three times and now it is my favorite cake. It is so moist, chewy and rich. You'll love it! Be careful not to over bake though, or it will dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by librachica5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made this exactly as the recipe states. This was delicious. It was even better after being refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States