Horchata de Arroz (Rice Drink) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Hola a todos!! I submitted this recipe. Yes, Horchata is originally a Mexican drink. I'm PuertoRican, not the drink. I can't find where it says otherwise but apparently someone must have made a mistake. Talking about mistakes, Allrecipes edited the recipe I submitted and it doesn't quite makes sense the way it is written now. The amounts listed in the ingredients are right but they are wrong under the directions. Dilute the evaporated milk with the water and follow the idea... Sorry about that. I'll try to contact them about it. Anyways, enjoy the drink!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Why do you all think this is good? The recipe doesn't even make sense. Pour 2 cups of evaporated milk in the blender when the ingredients only calls for a cup and a half (two cups is 16 ounces). What's up with that. I started it out and had to stop. If someone can explain what is up with this, I would love to make it, but this is really stupid as far as I can tell. I feel stupid starting this before reading all the directions. Man, and I really want horchata. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
this is a good recipe I make this all the time, we love horchata it goes well with spicy Mexican food. I boil water with cinnamon sticks, and use that to give it a stronger cinnamon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I love Horchata, but it is not a Puerto-Rican drink. It derived from Mexico and Central America. If you want an authentic Puerto-Rican drink try Coquito. There are some pretty good recipes for it on this site. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This tastes exactly like the version served at a favorite Mexican restaurant. I consider this to be "authentic" and love it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
It was great! It tasted the way it used to when My mom made it, and much better than any restaurant horchata. However, I have a question: is it necessary to use long-grain rice, or can short-grain be substituted? Please answer as quickly as possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Yumm!! I made this and it's so good!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarLemons86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearfield, Utah, USA
Living In: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Horchata came from Mexico.... its mexican!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sylvia cabriales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is one of my favorite drinks! I added a stick of cinnamon, and some nutmeg on top! Very good, thanks latina cook~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
It was really good but not the best horchata I've had. I didn't have evaporated milk so used 2% milk and accidently a teaspoon of cinnamon instead of half. Next time I will do as instructed to see if there was a diffrence. But still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleban
Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States