Horchata de Arroz (Rice Drink) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Why do you all think this is good? The recipe doesn't even make sense. Pour 2 cups of evaporated milk in the blender when the ingredients only calls for a cup and a half (two cups is 16 ounces). What's up with that. I started it out and had to stop. If someone can explain what is up with this, I would love to make it, but this is really stupid as far as I can tell. I feel stupid starting this before reading all the directions. Man, and I really want horchata. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
It was great! It tasted the way it used to when My mom made it, and much better than any restaurant horchata. However, I have a question: is it necessary to use long-grain rice, or can short-grain be substituted? Please answer as quickly as possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Hola a todos!! I submitted this recipe. Yes, Horchata is originally a Mexican drink. I'm PuertoRican, not the drink. I can't find where it says otherwise but apparently someone must have made a mistake. Talking about mistakes, Allrecipes edited the recipe I submitted and it doesn't quite makes sense the way it is written now. The amounts listed in the ingredients are right but they are wrong under the directions. Dilute the evaporated milk with the water and follow the idea... Sorry about that. I'll try to contact them about it. Anyways, enjoy the drink!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
this is a good recipe I make this all the time, we love horchata it goes well with spicy Mexican food. I boil water with cinnamon sticks, and use that to give it a stronger cinnamon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I love Horchata, but it is not a Puerto-Rican drink. It derived from Mexico and Central America. If you want an authentic Puerto-Rican drink try Coquito. There are some pretty good recipes for it on this site. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Horchata came from Mexico.... its mexican!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sylvia cabriales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is one of my favorite drinks! I added a stick of cinnamon, and some nutmeg on top! Very good, thanks latina cook~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States