Horchata (Cinnamon Rice Milk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This is gooey and a waste of time. Soak a cup of uncooked rice in water overnight. Discard water and place the rice, a can of evaporated milk and about 4 cups of water in a blender. Mix. Add 1/2 cup sugar, 1 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp cinnamon and blend well. Strain through a cheesecloth a few times and serve over ice. Easier and way better, i promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
631 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This recipe turned out great, except you can't follow the instructions completely. First, instead of a cinnamon stick I substituted ground cinnamon. Second, I added 1 quart(4 cups) milk)in addition to the other ingredients. Then I heated up the mixture, not waiting the 3 hours, just until it was hot, not boiling. Pureeed the mixture till smooth and strained it. Then I chilled the mixture. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
378 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
Being Mexican myself, I'm biased when it comes to Mexican recipes. However, I do love horchata. It takes alot of time to prepare, but it is worth it. My nieces and newphews love it, but then again, they are also Mexican, :-). My fiancé, on the other hand, is white, and he can't get enought of this drink. I decided to learn how to make it for him, and that is what brought me here. So even though it isn't especially easy to make, it is worth it just for it's delicious taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I read the recipe, then the other posts here and had to laugh. The person who posted this recipe skipped a crucial step: STRAINING the horchata (Do you really think we can drink something that has cinnamon bark in it without straining it?). Funny. Also, I usually like to let the rice mixture sit overnight, then you don't have to cook it and lose its lovely fresh milky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
The measurements for the water and sugar in this recipe must be WAY off. I followed everything precisely and what I ended up with was a very thick, milkshike-type drink. Nothing at all like real Horchata I grew up in my Mexican household. I had to add about 3 more quarts of water (and consequently another few cups of sugar)to make the drink thin enough and sweet enough to drink. In the end, it still tasted like pureed rice pudding and not like Horchata. I was skeptical when reading this recipe at first because of the directions to cook the rice. I knew that would make it very starchy, but proceeded anyway. I was very disappointed. I guess the hunt still continues for a good Horchata recipe. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
The proportions are definitely off. After blending 'til smooth this was a thick rice milkshake, not a refreshing rice drink. Look elsewhere for a good horchata recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
After reading the reviews, I made LatinaCook's recipe instead. The only variation I made was to add a touch of almond extract. Nice drink for a change of pace...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
With all due respect to the author, this did not come close to the authentic horchata my family is used to drinking. I was disappointed to find white sludge after I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
This did not turn out well at all. It looked like rice pudding after cooking, and after blending it turned into a rice shake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLASTRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
Taste was good. The results were in a thick sauce form, like thick paste gravy. Thinning took away any flavor. I am use to Hispanic made from Chicago and it was always so goood. Will return to purchased mix from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States