Horchata (Cinnamon Rice Milk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I made this and followed recipe not anything like Horchata its too thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
more like a pudding than a drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: La Crete, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
horrible, i ended up with a big mess and pancake batter. I even tried to make it work by straining more then once adding flavor and chilling then reblend strain and still pudding like or thick liquid and a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Followed directions EXACTLY and ended up getting a something with the consistency of near pancake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This is the the closest thing to Mi Abuelita's. It brought back great mempries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer W-Marquez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
After spending five hours cooking, waiting, and straining this stuff, I SOOO wanted to love this. What I ended up with was the consistency of cake frosting. Once I watered it down, it tasted much like the boiled water you'd find in under-cooked rice. I am sad to throw this out after all the effort, mess, and waiting this required. I just can't bring myself to like it. Try another recipe if you value your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I gave this three stars because it got me on the right track toward making my own horchata recipe. I didn't have any dairy products and wanted something milky... so the bag of rice sprang to mind. I boiled two cups of rice in four cups of water and kept adding water to cover the rice, until the rice grains were huge, puffy, and creamy. Then, added water until it was soupy and blended. When most of the rice was broken up I strained. If your strainer is getting clogged, run your fingers around the holes and/or add more water. I found that more water made straining easier. Keep the rice shards you strain out and make rice pudding. Same sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla as the horchata, just in a more solid form. If it comes out too thick ... add water and blend and all will be well. And mine tastes strongly of rice, regardless of the tons of water. Must be from all the ground up rice in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
We attempted to make this for a school project and we ended up just going to the store to buy some rice milk. After cooking the rice and letting in chill overnight (before purreing it) and after purreing it we attempted to just use sieve but we had to push it through the mesh. So we attempted to use the cheesecloth, it was really bland tasting too. It was not thin like how it is supposed to be, but rather gooey and pudding like. After sitting out for a couple of minutes it quickly turned into a jell-o like substance. I would never make this again! Find a better recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
i use the recipe all the way up to step 2. i smashed the rice during the boiling process, so you can get all that extra water out of the rice. and i added about 1/4 cup of milk to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Midnight_Blaze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Did not work at all. Don't know what I did wrong, but wouldn't even go through the cheese cloth. Tasted nothing like the Horchata I had when living in Phoenix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States