Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is a great recipe. I did add some garlic powder and some onion powder. I found some really fat smoked turkey necks and also had a 1/2 pound cured pork. I soaked my beans over night which greatly reduces the gas problem beans tend to create for a lot of people (don't forget to drain soaked water and refresh before cooking). Cooked Jasmine rice in my rice cooker and served the beans over rice with some fresh chopped white onion. YUMMY!! Never tried it with a can of diced tomatoes, maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this for new Years with collard greens and I liked it and so did my daughter but it was a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I left out the rice in cooking but before serving I added in two cups of leftover cooked brown rice. I also added a diced yellow pepper and a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles and some extra leftover ham. Mine was much more soupy than the picture shows, but my family and guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckman49

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Flavorful, easy..might become an annual event. Confused as to why people would rate a dish they never tried...try it, revise it, make it your own,but don't waste review space for something you didn't put any effort into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
If this is what you start the new year with it can only get better. Bland isn't the word.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I used leftover ham instead of hocks, black beans cuz I didn't have black-eyed peas, and brown rice. Very tasty served over cornbread, even if my ham chunks were purple, lol. People who review recipes they haven't even made need to get over themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoochee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I followed one reviewer's suggestion and added a can of Ro-Tel tomatoes and some diced leftover ham. At first I thought I had put in too much liquid, but as it turns out I didn't have enough and had to add a bit. The taste was good but it did not turn out as creamy as I expected. I may have misread the recipe; I covered the peas with water (4cups) .I'll make it again but will use the seasonings that my family prefers. My kids love rice and beans so this will be a good recipe to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHYADKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
So good. Doubled the recipe but would caution others about doubling the rice. I used 8 cups of water and 2.5 cups of rice and it was STILL too much rice. Should have used 2 cups tops. Despite coming out dry and sticky versus wet and soupy as I would have preferred, it was still DELICIOUS. Will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I added one can of chopped tomatoes and collard greens. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Delicious. I did add several cloves of minced garlic which was suggested and decided to leave the rice out. Also used the leftover ham bone from Christmas. Full of flavor, didn't need anything else added. Will make again. Although technically this makes it a Black eyed pea soup. Still rates 5 stars. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States