Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I love black eye peas, but I didn't find this dish very appealing. Guests barely touched it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RavinSunkiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hancock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I made this for my husband on new years day. He loved it! This is definitely going in my recipe box. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Pretty good - the beans did not need 90 minutes to soften, in fact, most of the black-eyed peas were mush by the time the dish was finished. I would also recommend reducing the quantity of rice to ~1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Summer here in Australia at 40 degrees - but HAD to try this... 'Himself' and I LOVED it:-) Can't wait for winter to use this recipe over and over with the extended family. Favourite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
the only thing I would do different next time is make the rice separately and then stir it in with the peas and hamhocks at the end. Besides that it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Joseph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Excellent recipe- as the Kitchen Witch I had to tinker a bit. My changes included: adding a finely chopped green pepper, 3 handfuls of fresh, stemmed spinach, 1 lb. of bacon instead of ham hocks, 6 cloves of garlic- finely diced, I omitted the rice and finished it over night in the crock on low. MmHmm, an excellent New Years Day (or anytime) recipe-cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Witch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
FANTASIC AND EASY!! Whole family LOVED it...sprinkled a little Hot Sauce on top and YUMMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allthatca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is one of the best recipes I have found for Hollin' John! Made it two years in a row now - thanks so much for sharing - my family LOVES IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I made this New Year's Day...WOW...what a family pleaser. I added smoked link sausage, and used brown rice...everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Good, hearty, healthy meal. Only thing lacking is flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States