Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Flavorful, easy..might become an annual event. Confused as to why people would rate a dish they never tried...try it, revise it, make it your own,but don't waste review space for something you didn't put any effort into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
If this is what you start the new year with it can only get better. Bland isn't the word.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I used leftover ham instead of hocks, black beans cuz I didn't have black-eyed peas, and brown rice. Very tasty served over cornbread, even if my ham chunks were purple, lol. People who review recipes they haven't even made need to get over themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoochee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I followed one reviewer's suggestion and added a can of Ro-Tel tomatoes and some diced leftover ham. At first I thought I had put in too much liquid, but as it turns out I didn't have enough and had to add a bit. The taste was good but it did not turn out as creamy as I expected. I may have misread the recipe; I covered the peas with water (4cups) .I'll make it again but will use the seasonings that my family prefers. My kids love rice and beans so this will be a good recipe to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHYADKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
So good. Doubled the recipe but would caution others about doubling the rice. I used 8 cups of water and 2.5 cups of rice and it was STILL too much rice. Should have used 2 cups tops. Despite coming out dry and sticky versus wet and soupy as I would have preferred, it was still DELICIOUS. Will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I added one can of chopped tomatoes and collard greens. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Delicious. I did add several cloves of minced garlic which was suggested and decided to leave the rice out. Also used the leftover ham bone from Christmas. Full of flavor, didn't need anything else added. Will make again. Although technically this makes it a Black eyed pea soup. Still rates 5 stars. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Sooooooooo good! Made this today for our New Year's meal and served with cornbread. Only modification is that I used a little more water, used diced ham instead of the hock and added 1/2 head of cabbage. I almost forgot to add the smoked cheddar and then as I was serving remembered and shredded some over the top really quickly - wow, what a difference! We'll definitely have this again for next New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
First of all...I don't understand why people would rate/review a recipe they've not tried. We just finished this for our New Years dinner and thought it pretty good. Good enough to make again. I just salt and peppered, but the family used hot sauce. If I would have had some celery I would have put that in for a bit of crunch at the end of cooking. We also only had extra sharp cheddar on hand so used that. I didn't put rice in it, but instead made corn muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Just for clarification, "rotel" tomatoes consists of jalepeno peppers rather than chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States