Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is definitely better with chick stock, and garlic. I don't care for collards, so at the end of cooking, I toss in a bunch of fresh spinach to wilt it, and then serve. Turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISAC8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
As written I thought this recipe was not very nice at all. I tried to save it by adding garlic, a splash of vinegar, mustard, and ham bullion. That made it edible but I don't think I'll bother with it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
CHICKEN BROTH!!! For those who felt it was bland, replace the water with chicken broth. It makes a world of a difference. I also add bell peppers (green, yellow and red) and okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malcriada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I liked this, it was fast and easy. It was a little too spicy for me so I'll cut down the red pepper next time. Added already cooked rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I happened to find this when I was looking for a way to do lamb shanks in the slow cooker. It was delicious and has turned out to be a favourite. A local farmer sells fresh lamb and organic beans at farmers' market. Now I make this about once a month and it provides three meals for me and my partner. I use the lamb shanks in place of ham and substitute red cargo rice for white rice. The seasoning to my Canadian tastebuds is just right, not at all bland. Everything except the cheese goes into the slow cooker on low for 8 hours. Many thanks for a new favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Our family LOVES this recipe. As others have stated, our family also eats it for New Year's Day every year. I do get in the mood for it at other times especially during the winter, b/c it is a great comfort food! I've never tried it with the shredded smoked cheddar though. Otherwise, I make it exactly as written! Perfect every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Had left over smoked ham from Christmas so I used it in this recipe. Turned out great . Was delicious.. The only modifications was I added some celery and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Good dish, but recipe needed a little something. I added some chopped green chili peppers to add spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I followed the recipe and used ham hocks I got at local store. I also bought a package of ham chunks and added it to the beans in the last stages of cooking. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Delicious and economical! I added 2 bayleave while beans & ham cooked; then added beef broth when I added the rice. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States