Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I must give this recipe five stars, I am soooooo partial to black-eyed peas...I love them! I used chicken stock in place of the water, other then that the recipe was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snow likes to cook
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I used chicken broth for the water. After cooking for about 3 hrs in the slow cooker, I placed Country pork ribs on top that I fried in a pan with salt and pepper and EVOO until browned. Then cooked for another 4-5 hrs or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My number one piece of advice is start on this early. The prep can take awhile, but then it takes care of itself. This is hearty and I'd say the recipe makes enough for at least 6 people to have as a main dish. I might use ham shanks instead of ham hocks b/c they have more meat. As left overs I added some fried bratwurst and a dijon style mustard and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Too much and the rice comes out tough. I added a can of diced tomatoes and made in slow cooker. The rice didn't get as fluffy as it would have had it been cooked alone and added at the end. I ended up throwing away nearly half of it because it made so much and was so filling. Also, remember to serve with hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
My family loves this recipe for New Years Day. My daughter has started making it for her friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I am rating this recipe to include the changes I made to it. After looking at the recipe I thought this was a good base, but sounded as thought it might be a bit on the bland side. Sooo..I made a few changes. First I added some garlic. I use the pre minced garlic in the jar so I added about 1 to 1-1/2 teaspoons. I also chopped up a green bell pepper and added it to the mix along with a can of chopped tomatoes with green chilis (rotell tomatoes)to give it a little extra bite. Also in addition to cooking the soup with a ham bone, verses a ham hock, I also cubed up a good amount of left over ham and added it into the soup at the end. The result was yummy and would make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
678 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Delicious. I had not had these in years, I had lost my old recipe. I think this just like the one I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
I used long-grain brown rice (added about 30 minutes after the peas) and a slow cooker so it took me about 4 hours. I also used precooked diced ham. The result was VERY flavorful and thick. Everyone gave it a thumbs up. Served with cornbread. This one is definitely going in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
A little bland, but workable. I followed the recipe for the most part except I was using fully cooked cubed ham which I added at the very end. Before I served this I tasted it, it was just a lot of spice, but not much flavor. I had read the reviews in which someone added tomatoes. I used half a jar of spaghetti sauce instead. It flavored it enough with tomato and more spices but didn't overpower it with a real strong tomato sauce base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Very bland. See review from Calgier. I should have heeded it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States