Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
First off- if I wouldn't have found this recipe on here, I probably wouldn't have made this dish. But it just happened to be Dec. 31st and I had a bunch of dried black eyed peas still around from the garden. I love this meal. I did use 2 cups of peas. And two ham hocks. Probably five cups of liquid, part beer, part water. Plus a green bell and a couple big garden habaneros. Thanks- I'll be making this a few times a and every New Years Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by socalhabaneros

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is a poor people's dish. It was supposedly brought to America by slaves and adopted by white owners of plantations. It is simple and meant to be that way. I followed this recipe with the exception of adding some some simple sliced breakfast sausage along with the ham because while looking up the history of the recipe, I found references of adding that and I received RAVES from friends and family. When I served the leftovers, I poured a jar of home canned tomatoes over the top of the heated up John. Again, it was a great hit. This is a good and simple recipe. I wouldn't change it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was good, better than I thought. I added rotel, as per a review, and some smoked sausage, in addition to the hocks. I only kept some of the hock meat. I also added some garlic and some texas pete's. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is the best black eyed pea recipe! I read the other reviews and decided to make some changes, too. I didn't soak the peas, added chunks of pre-cooked ham and Rotel w/ hot peppers (maybe a bit too hot) and cooked 5 hours in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this according to the recipe given and the mixture was very dry and pasty, plus the rice was crunchy. It definitely needed more liquid(2-4 more cups) and way less rice (3/4 cup). I also think it needs a bit more heat. I'll try it again but with my modifications. It was nothing like my Mom's New Year's black eye peas and ham hocks recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonaMouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I am from the south and have always wanted to make this dish. My aunts make the best pots of beans. I love when I go home to visit they always have a pot of somethin stewing in the kitchen. Ok..This dish was excellent but took alot longer then expected. I used water and chicken stock. The ham hocks were soooo good. I added a can or rotell diced tomatoes with green chilis to kick it up and lots of garlic.. I gotta have my garlic. Next time I will soak the beans and cook the rice seperately and then combine all. Very excellent dish with cornbread and a salad. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I really like this recipe. I did make changes - I used chicken stock instead of water and that added even more flavor. This recipe is my new New Year's Day tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Kendrick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I use country style ribs, seasoned and browned with the onion. I don't know how to cook without garlic. I add spinach to make a one-dish meal, and because I look for ways to use spinach. Of course, I serve with corn bread. This my recently-adopted New Year's tradition. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Pretty good basic recipe but I did need to spice it up just a bit for my family. It turned out really good and will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Really delicious. I had never made hoppin' john before but this will be my new tradition for every new years day! Here are my modifications: I soaked my black eyed peas the overnight and used 3 cups since they had increased in size. I think the reason why people are having trouble with their peas is because they don't pre-soak. I used smoked ham shanks as I couldn't find any hocks - worked great and added a lot of nice meat. I also added 1 clove of garlic and a dash or so of old bay seasoning. I added 2 tsp of "better than bullion" chicken flavor to the simmering process. When I made the rice I actually cooked it separately in some of the broth and a little extra water. EDIT: Improved this year by keeping the rice and beans to cook SEPARATE the whole time. Just serve the beans on top of the rice. We also found the smoked cheddar to try along with it and it was a very delicious complimentary flavor to the dish. Highly recommend keeping this one simple - it's delicious and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ackley, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States