Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
OMG, these were so good, of course I made slight modifications. I cut up onions to cook into the recipe and I used ham pieces, chicken bioullion and cooked in slow cooker for 4 hours, I then added about a cup of long grain cooked rice. this was such a good recipe. Thanks to the originator. I often find very good recipes on this website and just make slight adjustments for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
i give this 4 stars only because some in my family did not like it. i took all the ingredients and threw them into the crock pot. I really liked it. Seasoned perfectly as recipe is listed no need for more, but you could add if you wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Hodawanus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
perfect for new years. did bacon instead of ham, 3 cans peas and threw all in the crockpot for a few hours. ready to get lucky ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We really liked this dish. I simplified it by using canned black-eyed peas & it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this recipe on New Year's Day and my kids wanted thirds! Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Very disappointed. Followed the recipe to a T but I won't do that again...way, way too dry. I highly recommend making the rice separately and ladling the Hoppin John on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alto, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Used my cast iron dutch oven to make this dish, or should I say try and make this dish. I followed the directions up to the point of adding the white rice... Did not cook in the 20-25 mins suggested. I even went longer and had to add water. I think cooking it longer caused the peas to get mushy and my husband did not care for the dish, for the mushy peas and said it was somewhat bland. May try again, cooking the rice separtely and spice it up a bit. Should I have not used my Dutch oven?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great with the additions that others noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
It's Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nan5623

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is definitely better with chick stock, and garlic. I don't care for collards, so at the end of cooking, I toss in a bunch of fresh spinach to wilt it, and then serve. Turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISAC8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States