Hopi Corn Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
This was awsome! I did change a little as my husband and I enjoy things more as a soup than a stew. I drained the grd. bf., then added a touch of water to season with the chili powder. I also added a C of water and used 3 cans of beef broth, not 3 C., cut down the potatoes to 3 large size, and used 1 package of hot chili powder (we like it hot)! Fabulous w/ warm tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Very good recipe, thank you! I cut the recipe down by 1/3, added a tsp of crushed garlic and about a tablespoon of Grandma's Garden southwest seasoning but otherwise left it the same. Hubby and I both liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
Very tasty and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I had my predominately Hispanic Foods students make this and they all LOVED it. They cooked it from start to finish in under 90 minutes (including clean-up). I altered the directions by cooking the carrots until almost tender before adding the potatoes to avoid mushy potatoes. Fresh chiles, with varying degrees of heat, are abundant in our area so we used fresh in lieu of canned. I think it really made the dish stand out. We also increased the amount of broth to make it more soup-like and added shredded cheddar on top to garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
i added garlic powder, dried parsley, bay leaf, and a full beer! fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was a very good soup/stew and the only change I made was to add some cumin, as others have suggested. I also added a small amount of hot pepper to give it a bit of heat. I love the hominy in it and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I have this in the crock pot right now. I love hominy. I read the reviews about cumin and have time to add that if I want. I did end up chopping up garlic and adding without realizing it wasn't in the recipe. For some reason I had it in my head I wouldn't like it with the canned tomatoes but it's great. I think with just one tablespoon of chili powder this has some zing (and I'm a 4 star thai kind of person too). I added just one because my kids aren't into spicy food yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
My husband raved about this soup! I added a couple of Knorr's cilantro cubes to it while it cooked. Served it with corn bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is very good! I used Chimayo Red Chile powder and Chipotle in Adobo Sauce, to it has such a kick and awesome flavor. Thanks for sharing a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This recipe is a keeper! I'm always on the lookout for one-pot dishes that are healthy and satisfying. I too decided to add garlic & cumin, based on other reviews. I garnished ours with a dollop of sour cream, chopped avocado, a little fresh cilantro & a wedge of lime. The flavor was vaguely reminiscent of tortilla soup. It was flavorful, yet mild enough that my two small children raved about it and went back for seconds. I sprinkled some dried chipotle powder over the adult's portions and it was great. We've never had hominy in our home and I was pleasantly surprised by it's mild flavor and meaty texture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States