Hopi Corn Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
Very tasty and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
This was awsome! I did change a little as my husband and I enjoy things more as a soup than a stew. I drained the grd. bf., then added a touch of water to season with the chili powder. I also added a C of water and used 3 cans of beef broth, not 3 C., cut down the potatoes to 3 large size, and used 1 package of hot chili powder (we like it hot)! Fabulous w/ warm tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I had my predominately Hispanic Foods students make this and they all LOVED it. They cooked it from start to finish in under 90 minutes (including clean-up). I altered the directions by cooking the carrots until almost tender before adding the potatoes to avoid mushy potatoes. Fresh chiles, with varying degrees of heat, are abundant in our area so we used fresh in lieu of canned. I think it really made the dish stand out. We also increased the amount of broth to make it more soup-like and added shredded cheddar on top to garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
My husband and I enjoyed this stew. It's an interesting variation of vegetable beef soup. We enjoyed the chili powder and canned chilies. Definitely not too hot. It could stand more heat if you like hot stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is good; I love the use of hominy! I realized that it was going to need 'something', so I added some adobo seasoning, garlic, and some cumin. Oh, I also added a ton of cilantro and red pepper. My husband and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I have made this recipe twice, first with alterations and now following it exactly. Interestingly, the first, modified version turned out better. Instead of putting the potatoes into the stew I served it over mash with cheese on top and that created more depth to the recipe. Today, making the actual dish, it turned out rather bland. Still ok, but not spectecular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This was easy to make, I put it in the crock pot after browning the meat with the onion. I also added some jalapeno pepper for extra flavor. Makes a hearty meal with some corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
A good, hearty soup, but it can be a bit bland. More spice is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amherst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
i added garlic powder, dried parsley, bay leaf, and a full beer! fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIO1
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This makes enough to feed a small army. I served it to about 20 people (with sandwiches). They seemed to like it and some gave lots of compliments. I thought it was kind of plain. After I made it and tasted, I added about 2 Tbsp. cumin and extra chili powder, salt and pepper. This perked it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States