Hopi Corn Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
My husband raved about this soup! I added a couple of Knorr's cilantro cubes to it while it cooked. Served it with corn bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Made it tonight, made the house smell super yummy! After reading the reviews, I added 1 tsp cumin, 2 cups water and served with chopped fresh cilantro and fresh lime. Needs a lil more kick, so next time I will add something for some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I have this in the crock pot right now. I love hominy. I read the reviews about cumin and have time to add that if I want. I did end up chopping up garlic and adding without realizing it wasn't in the recipe. For some reason I had it in my head I wouldn't like it with the canned tomatoes but it's great. I think with just one tablespoon of chili powder this has some zing (and I'm a 4 star thai kind of person too). I added just one because my kids aren't into spicy food yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was a very good soup/stew and the only change I made was to add some cumin, as others have suggested. I also added a small amount of hot pepper to give it a bit of heat. I love the hominy in it and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This is my second time to make this stew and the original recipe is tasty. When I made it for dinner tonight I took the liberty of making changes specific to hubby and my taste. I increased the green chiles, onion and hominy, decreased the potato and carrot, added fresh garlic and oregano as well as new mexico chile paste for the chili powder. It was served it with a simple avacado salad and corn tortillas. This made for a very satisfying dinner which I will make again. Oh, do not mistake this stew for posole. Authentic posole does not include potatoes, carrots, tomatoes....etc. Traditionally it is a simple pork and corn stew to which various chile's are added. For todays convenience hominy usually substitutes for the corn (posole).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I noticed that some people wanted more kick with this recipe. I would suggest using a dried chipotle powder for the chile powder, or, like I would, a dried green chile powder. This is similar to Posole..being from Arizona I found it a yummy "comfort food." Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherokeegenie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
We have to double the recipe- was good. Left out the chilies because of younger children. Was great the 2nd day with 3 cups of rice added!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIO1
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This makes enough to feed a small army. I served it to about 20 people (with sandwiches). They seemed to like it and some gave lots of compliments. I thought it was kind of plain. After I made it and tasted, I added about 2 Tbsp. cumin and extra chili powder, salt and pepper. This perked it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
i added garlic powder, dried parsley, bay leaf, and a full beer! fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
A good, hearty soup, but it can be a bit bland. More spice is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amherst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States