Hopi Corn Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
WOW this make a ton of food and I cut most of the recipe in half. I only used 1 1/2 lbs ground beef, 1 onion, 1 can chickpeas in place of the hominy, and 2 14.5 oz cans of diced tomatoes with jalapenos and one can chicken broth, leaving everything else how the recipe stated, leaving out the 2 cans of diced green chiles since my diced tomatoes had jalapenos in them. I had to add a little water because the chicken broth wasn't enough to fill the pan with liquid. This is so good with a corn muffin crumbled on top. This woudl be awesome in the winter time!! Thanks for the great recipe. Oh yeah I did add a can of whole kernel corn, since it is hopi CORN stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Delicious! I only had 2 lbs ground beef, so added 4 small zucchini sliced thick to make up. Did also add whole cumin seeds while sauteing beef. Makes a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I just made this tonight. First off, it makes WAY more than 12 servings... more like 25!!! The flavor is really good and reminds me of a hamburger stew my aunt makes. I would probably add more hominy and take away 2 potatoes (or more). I also added 2 Tbsp. garlic powder to the stew as well as about 3 cups more liquid; 1 cup beef broth and 2 cups water. This is a really great stew for a cold winter night. I will definitely make this again; Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Loved it with some added cumin & half a can of chopped jalepenos. Hominy is a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is a really good starting recipe, but it needs stuff! I added a lot of garlic extra chili powder, cayenne pepper, dried chili flakes, and cumin. I also added veggies, green beans, peas and corn to make it go farther and have more veggie servings. I also like a little more broth so I added an extra can of beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I LOVE THIS STEW. I'm a cook for a Mental Health Facility. We have added this soup to our menu and our clients & staff rave about how much they love it. I use yellow corn instead of hominey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Destin, Florida, USA
Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was excellent and very filling. No changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Living In: Penrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was sooo good and easy to make! I love hominy though. We froze half of it and it tasted just as good the second time! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I made the recipe as shown, just scaled down for six servings. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I want everyone to realize that while they are adding ingredients they are changing the traditional recipe. In the "American" world this is not important. But in the "Indian" world it is very important. This is the reason the author pointed out that the recipe dated back to the 20's or 30's and that you could use venison or buffalo as was used back then. And by the way is very lean and tastes great! Remember the Hopi didn't have the all spices we now have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States