Hopi Corn Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Hi all, I made the recipes pretty much as written but adjusted the servings to 4. That makes a reasonable amount of food. after it was cooked I tasted and added some smoked paprika and cumin a little more pepper and salt and a cup of home cut-off-the-cob, roasted and frozen corn I needed to use up. It tastes wonderful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momofone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I used red skin potatoes, and this is a great venue for them. Delicious stew. Followed another cooks advice, and added a can of corn. I'm really pleased. Accompanied by corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
awesome...1/2 the recipe....didnt have any broth so I didnt drain the fat off the 90/10 ground beef to compensate, added 1 tbsp cumin, minced some garlic....all added to what was called for in the recipe. made enough for a family of 5 w/ leftovers. will add to the circulation of supper menus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clarksburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
very tasty, skipped the carrots because someone doesn't like them, and used goat meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StableBoy
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Top it with Jalapeno cheese and boom, delicious. The recipe makes a lot so I would suggest halfing it or quartering it unless you are feeding a small army.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This is a wonderful basic recipe to make your own. Other reviewers have mentioned their additions and I have also made my own additions and subtractions. It is a very versatile recipe using hominy and has become a favorite in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I needed to make this with ingredients on-hand, and I had no hominy, so I used frozen kernal corn. Also only had two pounds ground beef. Turned out really good. I had read other reviews, so knew to kick up the spices to 2 TBSP chili powder and 1 TBSP ground cumin (remember, this is to only two pounds meat. Very nice flavor, would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Fantastic comfort food for cold weather- we loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LA ESPOSA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Delicious! I halved the recipe and used ground venison. Other than adding some minced garlic while browning the meat and onions, I prepared the stew as directed. I love hominy, and I can't imagine this stew being as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I created this Stew using venison that my husband harvested this hunting season. I did not have any luck finding Hominy. I live in upstate New York and could not find it in the local Walmart, Tops Market, or local non-commerical grociers. I made it using corn as a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GinaMomaBabeof2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States