Hopi Corn Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I used red skin potatoes, and this is a great venue for them. Delicious stew. Followed another cooks advice, and added a can of corn. I'm really pleased. Accompanied by corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
awesome...1/2 the recipe....didnt have any broth so I didnt drain the fat off the 90/10 ground beef to compensate, added 1 tbsp cumin, minced some garlic....all added to what was called for in the recipe. made enough for a family of 5 w/ leftovers. will add to the circulation of supper menus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clarksburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
very tasty, skipped the carrots because someone doesn't like them, and used goat meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StableBoy
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Top it with Jalapeno cheese and boom, delicious. The recipe makes a lot so I would suggest halfing it or quartering it unless you are feeding a small army.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This is a wonderful basic recipe to make your own. Other reviewers have mentioned their additions and I have also made my own additions and subtractions. It is a very versatile recipe using hominy and has become a favorite in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I needed to make this with ingredients on-hand, and I had no hominy, so I used frozen kernal corn. Also only had two pounds ground beef. Turned out really good. I had read other reviews, so knew to kick up the spices to 2 TBSP chili powder and 1 TBSP ground cumin (remember, this is to only two pounds meat. Very nice flavor, would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Fantastic comfort food for cold weather- we loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LA ESPOSA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Delicious! I halved the recipe and used ground venison. Other than adding some minced garlic while browning the meat and onions, I prepared the stew as directed. I love hominy, and I can't imagine this stew being as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I created this Stew using venison that my husband harvested this hunting season. I did not have any luck finding Hominy. I live in upstate New York and could not find it in the local Walmart, Tops Market, or local non-commerical grociers. I made it using corn as a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GinaMomaBabeof2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Very tasty. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I thought at first it would be too spicy with the full can of chillies, but it was not at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarKerRaven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States