Hoosier Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Not really chili, this is chili mac and it's good. By adding more pasta and liquid (broth, water, tomato juice, etc.) you could stretch this out for a bigger pot. You could also add in more beans if you like more, This is a very versatile and easily adaptable recipe. I enjoyed this quite a bit. My husband did not like it at all. It did have a little afterburn and the chili powder seemed a bit strong. I used beef consomme and added in some black beans as well, a little less than half a can, since they were leftover in my fridge. I will happily eat the leftovers on this meal. Thanks Jeanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I am a Hoosier (Indiana resident all my life) and this is how I have always made my chili. You can use spaghetti if you wish. I add ceyenne pepper or hot taco sauce to make it spicier, too. Delicious!! extra hint: adding cocoa will give it a nice rich sheen..not much, maybe a couple tsps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is my new favorite chili! I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes instead of stewed, and left out the beef broth because there was already a lot of liquid. The rich tomato flavor is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNDAAAAAAA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Fixed this for dinner tonight. It was the best chili I've ever had! My husband even loved it! This will be the one we cook from now on :) We didn't add or take away from the recipe really. Just added a little more chili powder. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flatwoods, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Greenup, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
use more pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
We have been making this recipe for a couple years now.. the family and friends LOVE IT!!! Great winter time food :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrinityLives

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Loved this recipe. I left out the green pepper and garlic just because I didn't have any. I also cut down on the chili powder...just because my husband doesn't like it. Will use this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I've made this chili 3 times now and it is delicious. It is a nice change to the basic chili that I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
It looked like it would be a bit too soupy for my taste so I didn't add the tomato juice but added a tablespoon of tomato paste and used diced tomatoes instead of stewed. I did add a cup and a half of water to it. I also added a drop of liquid smoke and dry mustard to give it a bit of kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Fantastic! I used diced tomatoes instead of stewed, only had a 15 oz. can of beef broth so I used all of it, increased the elbow macaroni to 1 1/4 cups, used only 2 TBSP chili powder, and I cooked it all in my slow cooker. Seriously good stuff! I will be making this again, we all loved it! Thankyou for sharing this tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States