Hong Kong Sweet and Sour Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was a big hit! Definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Perfect recipe! I made this without pineapple because I can't eat it, and I was totally dubious about that, but it turned out perfectly. I also used corn starch, and I didn't have eggs so I just threw the marinated pork in corn starch, and it worked perfectly. It was crispy and so delicious. I used celery, white onions and canned mushrooms because that was all the veggies I had on hand, and yes, that IS enough marinade, which I doubted at first. Will for sure make this again, it's nice to have another recipe for pork that won't dry it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was a nice change. Will make it every now and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I used leftover pork roast and really squeezed the pork balls tight with the starch. Used corn starch as I didn't have potato starch. This had the family raving about this recipe. Unbelievably good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I couldn't find pototo starch so I substituted a mixture of corn starch and all-purpose flour. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Soooooo... Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
OMGoodness. This is a wonderful and easy recipe. I added a bit of button mushrooms with the other veggies,,......love this!!!:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Yummy! I did have the potato starch (also called potato flour) and never did anything with it, so this recipe was an eye opener for it's use. The potato starch makes it really crispy, instead of soggy like regular wheat flour can get once it is mixed with a sauce. The only changes I made was that I used a small onion that I did a rough 1/2" chop on instead of the green onions and I left out the cayenne peppers, only because I didn't have them. I suppose I could have substituted some Siracha hot sauce, but it was so good without it, I didn't add it. I also used half a red bell pepper in addition to the green pepper. I would suggest that you do all of your chopping ahead of time so that when your frying is done you are ready to stir fry the veggies. My husband loved it, and thinks it's better than a restaurant dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This is awesome!!! My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
The flavour was excellent. It's spicy and sweet...it wasn't sour at all. But it tasted really good anyway. Even my mom liked it and she doesn't like anything other than what we eat everyday (indian food). I followed the recipe almost exactly with the following changes: I didn't have peanut oil or sesame oil so I used regular vegetable oil for both. Also, we don't eat pork so I substituted with chicken breast. I didn't have cayenne peppers, so I used 1 Thai hot pepper from our garden (spicy!) Served it with rice. Everyone loved it. It was gone in a day! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States