Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
My boyfriend is from Taiwan and came across this recipe for me to make him :). I did and he absolutely loves them! The dough is great, the filling is good, and together they are fabulous! I also had too much egg mixture for the shells, but my mom loves them with more of the custard. I made six in 3.5" tart shells and one 9" pie and it turned out great. This is a great recipe to keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
These are absolutely delicious! I hesitated after seeing the mix reviews but decided to go ahead anyway.The recipe is easy to follow, and yes, the tarts taste like bought-from-store. I've reduced the sugar for the dough to 90gm and 100 gm for the custard as I do not like them too sweet. And yes, there is too much custard for the dough - you'll need 1.5 times of the dough to use up the custard. I've substituted evaporated milk with fresh milk and they still turn out great. I've tried replacing butter with margarine and regretted it - the tarts were bland. So just stick to butter. Will definitely make this again. My dad and husband were totally impressed! Thanks for the recipe :}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
I haven't made these, but in response to the review about the tarts falling appart: you're supposed make these tarts in mini aluminium pie shells! (reread the recipe: it says to use 'tart molds') Some restaurants also use paper muffin cups in muffin pans, which makes it easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
this recipe was great =D i ended up making a gianntttt egg tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Very delicious!!! For a very authentic Chinese taste, I cut down the confectioners' sugar from 1 cup to 3/4 cup. I also cut down the white sugar just a tad. I also did not use canned evaporated, but skim milk for a more delicious and low-fat taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Of course most importantly, the filling is quite authentic and was perfect as directed. The pastry recipe makes a firm butter shell. I ended up having to add an extra tablespoon of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
The crust is just fine for me and the sweetness of the custard is just right. Sure will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I used 3/4 cup confectioner's sugar for the crust instead, and it turned out fine. This recipe is pretty time-consuming, especially during the process of making the crust. To save time, I heated the water and sugar before making the crust so that the sugar mixture can cool while I'm working on the crust. Make sure you make the crust thinner because it expands while baking. The custard is really good, almost like those you buy from Dim Sum restaurants. I know this because I am Chinese. :) This recipe makes more than 12 tarts. Enjoy the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuVeLLe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
this recipe is very rich and very very tastey.it can be filled with whiped cream or ice cream or even a varity of fruits. It will be the talk of your desert table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This recipe was perfect for me. I substituted shortening for butter and used aluminum papered muffin cups. There was a lot of dough, but I used it all any way. The result is that at 450, it browns perfectly after 20 min. for a flaky crust. If you use less dough or make the shell thinner, I suspect the crust will be too brown. There is also too much filling. I only needed a little more than half of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States