Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
The custard was close, changed. The crust would have been way too sweet if I hadn;\'t changed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
We used prepared tart shells in the frozen section of the grocery store. we're just lazy. We used 8 eggs instead of 9 eggs for the filling. We also use 3/4 cups of sugar instead of the 2/3 cups of sugar asked in the recipe. The filling never browned, we took them out when the shells started browning. I think next time we'll use less eggs. When it's freshly warm from the oven, it's not very sweet...disappointing. But I put them in a fridge over night and warmed them in the microwave and it seemed sweet enough, but not too much. The fillings was a bit firmer than the ones i've had in Chinatown. Not the best egg tarts i've had and not at all close to Chinatown egg tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I halved the recipe. There was indeed too much custard for the amount of dough. I derived 10 medium sized tarts from this recipe, though the leftover custard could have filled 5 more tart shells. I baked the tarts in 2 batches, the first batch was baked at 200 degrees celsius for 13 minutes. The tart shells came out perfect and golden, but the custard was overcooked on the top- there was a thick gel-like layer instead of wobbly custard goodness. I baked my second batch at 190 degrees celsius for 17 minutes; they turned out fantastically!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
The crust tasted nothing like the crust of an egg tart but was yummy nonetheless. I would have to say that while this recipe was okay tasting, it did not resemble my idea of a traditional egg tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I looked for another egg tart recipe after my previous attempt came out with a rather unpastry-like crust. This one came out better, but unfortunately the temperature was far too high and the egg custard was cooked too much. It came out rather tough and not the jelly-like texture it was supposed to have. Also, several crusts burned, but that may have been due to the fan bake mode I was using on my oven. I'll have to experiment a bit more with this recipe. For all those looking to try it, you might want to lower the temp a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LuvChanSe
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Great recipe!!! Taste just like home!!!! I made it for my dad and he said the crust should be thicker than it will taste just like the tea house he used to go to in Hong Kong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvChanSe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I have had egg tarts both in San Francisco and here in Portland, OR. These compare very well, though to be honest, I am only comparing the filling. I was lazy and used prepared pie crust, as I was making them in mini muffin tins for a Chinese New Year potluck and needed a bunch (I would have finished with over 6 dozen had the dog not eaten some). The filling is a shade sweeter than the restaurant's tarts, but that's ok with me. FYI, use 4 pie crusts for the amount of filling shown. I like a high filling to crust ratio, so I rolled the crusts out a couple of inches to make them a little thinner. I had success with both the "roll it in a ball and press it in the tin" technique and the "roll it out and cut it with a biscuit cutter" technique. The biscuit cutter I have is fluted, so it made for pretty edges. I used a 2 1/2" cutter for the mini muffin tins, and baked 12 minutes at 425 degrees F. I also tried some of the pre-baked phyllo shells, but I did not like that the filling ran down under them. Hubby liked those best, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Very authentic to what you would get at a Chinese bakery. The flavor of the custard was right on. I didn't have a strainer but the texture was perfect. As per other's suggestions I didn't as much sugar. It turned out very well, I'm very pleased :) and I had people asking me for the recipe! It made my Chinese New Year feast extra spectacular. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lens, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Pretty good recipe! I modded the crust recipe according to the reviews and used less icing sugar and used cake & pastry flour instead of all-purpose. I liked that the crust was slightly sweet, almost like a soft cookie, and not typical of those from the bakery/dim sum restaurant. Also, 450F was too hot for these tarts, so I baked them at 425F for around 15 min. I will definitely make these egg tarts again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirlicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I used a muffin tin to do it and I halved the recipe. I baked it for around 18 minutes. The filling initially rose but eventually collapsed. I also added in some milk for the crust, it was just too crumbly. The filling has a strong egg taste and not sweet enough (I was eating a store bought one to compare) The next time I'll make it I'll add in more sugar for the custard and one less egg. But definitely better than some other recipe that I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States