Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
The dough is goood but it actually makes more than twenty portions!! And to the custard, I used low fat milk instead of evaporated milk, it works.... And I didn't melt the sugar before making the custard, I just blended all ingredients with my blender. But if you choose to do so, once u finish blending, remember to remove the bubbles that forms, like a white foam. That will keep the custard nice and yellow.... But over all the recipe tastes great, and it's not too sweet. And I even put a little less than a cup of sugar in the custard and dough recipes.... That you can adjust to your taste....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alyssa
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I used frozen puff pastry instead because I like flaky pastry rather than flat tart shells. Plus, it takes much less time. I halved the recipe and made 8 tarts. Next time I would add more sugar or even honey since the puff pastry is not sweet. My friend said the tarts are more like Portuguese style you normally find in Macau. I don't really care. They are yummy anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Tried these in my bakery and they were so good that I had to take it a step further! I put a whole pecan in the bottom of each tart and then added a tsp of maple extract to the mix before pouring into the tarts...Oh My! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Excellent recipe. Word of advice, if the egg part is still runny, but the cookie outside is done, take it out. The egg will become more solid when it cools or else it won't be as silky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I wished I read the other reviews b4 I started on this recipe. The quantity for the egg custard is really too much for a dozen tarts, I could have made easily another 7 or 8 tarts with the leftover custard mix. Do half the quantity for the egg custard if you don't wanna waste the eggs! I used soy milk instead of evaporated milk. I added a touch of yellow food coloring to make the custard a deeper shade of yellow. The tarts came out great and I love the texture of the custard, just nice! The tart case texture is not as soft as I thought, it's a little on the crispy side but still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This recipe has the right ingredients, but the proportions are way off. I already know how to make egg tarts, so I just wanted to see what this creates. This came out worse than I expected. Crust was more like a cookie, and the custard lacks any taste (other than the taste of egg). Just to warn everyone: it's obvious this recipe uses too many eggs in the custard (9 eggs!! while you only use 1.5 cups of water and 1 cup of evap. milk?).the amount of custard left over was more than 2.5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
While the cookie base would make a great cookie, it is most definitely NOT great for the crust of an egg tart. The egg custard center is anything but. I was looking for smooth and velvety custard, but this recipe (followed to a T) resulted in scrambled egg tasting custard that was clumpy when cut into. I will search elsewhere for a truely authentic egg tart recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Hi! I'm 11 and I made this. It is GREAT! I actually only made the filling; My crust was store-bought. The color was a teensy bit light, but the taste and texture was great. At first, I thought there had been like a typo-9 eggs??? But it was good! :D My mom's students loved these. Right before baking, I like to put some blueberries and/or raisins inside. I will probably make this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This recipe was really straight forward however I altered the recipe abit and used 1/2 the amount of sugar and confectioners sugar. Also I used 5 eggs instead of 9 and my dad thought the egg tarts were good but still slightly sweet even after altering it :) Luckily it wasn't so bad however I think the temperature was still too high but I guess that depends on your own oven. I put mine to 180 instead and half way through I had to turn my tray I used. However, this was probably since I used a muffic tray instead of a proper shell things. but they still turned out well overall :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
It's really easy to make and I thought it wasn't bad. For the crust, everyone needs to alternate things to their own taste. What I did to achieve the PERFECT dough was to add more water to make the dough firmer. I then adjusted it to my taste and texture. I haven't done the custard yet, due to lack of eggs. (Hehe) However, I'm going to try following everyone's suggestion and halve the custard recipe. I'll also pretty up the tart texture and use a fork the design it. :) Overall, I'm pretty excited though because I tried a new recipe for these yummy HK egg tarts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States