Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
First, the sugar is way too low. Second, the proportion is for way more than 12, maybe 24 or more. Third, the temperature is a bit high.*I did not use the recipe for the crust, only the filling. Maybe the crust is good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
thought it was great! although there was wayyyyy to much filling…….does regular milk work too?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I should have read the reviews before attempting this. There was way too much egg custard left over and the 450 was too high. The crust came out a bit dry and hard. However, the taste is just right. I will retry this again and maybe post an updated review. Next time, I would half the filling recipe and lower the oven temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I made a few modifications to the recipe and my tarts came out nearly perfect! First, I lowered the heat to 400 degrees, which extended the cooking time by 5-10 min. They tarts are ready when the center puffs up. Second, I substituted extra virgin coconut oil for the butter to lower the cholesterol impact. Make sure to use the pure stuff that is in solid state at room temp. Third, after I pressed the dough into the tart pans, I poke a few holes in the bottom with a fork to prevent the crust from puffing up under the egg....which is what happened when I didn't poke holes. While I did find that the recipe yielded more dough than egg mixture, my proportions weren't that far off. I used 2 3/4" egg tart tins (which I finally found on eBay being sold directly by Chinese manufacturers after I had scoured internet retailers and couldn't find them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
my tarts burnt like marshmallows in a fire. the temp of the oven was way, way, WAY too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Proportions are all wrong. I had so much left over batter for filling. I used 9 eggs for that, which I had to later just dump in the sink since I didn't need it anymore! Very disappointed. The only thing that is redeemable is that the ones I were able to make were okay. Crust is definitely not as it should be. Overall.. go find a different recipe that doesn't waste your ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
First time I made it, I received a compliment from friends, all too familiar with superb foods in Hong Kong and Taiwan. They said it was by far the best egg tart they've eaten anywhere! I was flattered!! I, however, modified the recipe some (more because I was short on some items). I used about 7 eggs (v. 9 eggs), added ~5tbsp more water into the sugar-water syrup.. Prior to filling the designing the edges of the crust, I put them into the cooler to keep the dough firm and easier to work with (I made it in the heat/humidity of mid-summer). I think I decreased the temperature some to 440 (v. 450) and let it bake for 15 - 20min. I say watch your egg tarts and be careful to not let it overcook. If the center egg portion is firm when you pull it out, it will taste a little over-eggy. If it is barely jiggly, I think that's ideal. The second time I made this recipe (1 year after my first time!), I forgot I did not have evaporated milk so I used dehydrated milk powder -- Bad Idea. I did not modify the egg and water amount so this produced over-firm egg tarts. It was definitely edible (and perhaps enjoyable in its own way) but not worthy of more compliment than "Ya, it's good." ** Other reviews said the egg mix is more than what you need, and they are Correct.. ~4 medium-sized egg tarts more. I forgot to experiment reducing the amount this time, but I suggest you keep that in mind (: If you'd rather have more than not enough, you are golden.. no worries! Overall, Great Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by itchcat
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I am from Hong Kong, and these egg tarts do remind me of those in Hong Kong! The filing was good but I didn't like the crust. I recommend making the crust by using the recipe of kukadog's lemon pie bars. I used skim milk instead since I didn't have evaporated milk. I also reduced the amount of sugar and the oven's temperature to 350. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Made this today and it was delicious! I made a few minor changes to the recipe though. - I substituted the evaporated milk with Lactaid Reduced Fat 2% milk. - Cut the recipe in half to make 6 instead of 12 but there were still way too much dough and filling left. I wrapped everything up and left it in the fridge. - I used a muffin pan instead of tart molds. - Started at 400 degrees cause 450 was too hot and would burn the crust in no time then reduced to 350. It took about 25 mins to finish cooking these. - Also when I cut the tart in half, only the top was yellow but the bottom was white. It was kind of cool looking actually!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
For the dough: I used 3 sticks of butter and only 3/4 cup of confectioners sugar for the dough....still did not come out flakey enough for my taste. I should have used the original 1 cup of confectioners sugar because 3/4 was seemed bland. For the custard: i followed another reviewers advice and I used 6 whole eggs plus 3 yolks....seemed to not be too eggy like others complained of. I would love to try with store bought pastry dough and see if that makes a difference. It was very difficult to form the dough to the muffin pan ( I used paper liners too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States