Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This was way yum. I totally cheated though, and just used the filling with canned croissants. Also subbed the evaporated milk for half&half which I had on hand. The eggs were so fluffy and tasty- the hubs was def surprised by this treat. Anyone using these subs, brush the pastry with the eggs to prevent top crust burning. (Perforations in croissant dough allow eggs to fall to bottom in cooking, crust rises to top like a strip of puff pastry) Cook exactly 15 min on 450, adjust for alt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Binkley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This recipe is great, egg tarts came out delicious, but it does need some adjustments. Like many other reviewers, the recipe gave me too much filling for the dough, so I decreased the ingredients for the filling. Yes, the crust came out tasting like a sugar cookie (not so much like a flaky pastry), which I liked, so I was quite happy with it. I also had lowered the oven temperature slightly (440 rather than 450) because at 450 the crust started to burn before the filling was fully cooked. Also, in order to prevent burning, I cooked the tarts uncovered for 6 minutes at 440, then placed a piece of aluminum foil on top of them, and cooked for an additional 10-14 minutes (Sometimes I just had to add small increments and watch to see if it was cooked or not). Also according to the recipe listed, the dough came out very dry and brittle. I had to add a lot of additional butter, and added some milk. After adding milk it became a lot stickier and easier to shape into the tins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I'm Chinese. Now while it was good, it's not as rich as what we're used to from the Chinese bakeries. I have other recipes which are richer and more authentic which calls for extra yolks and that makes the difference. I decided to try this recipe anyway since with the other recipes, I always end up throwing away the whites (despite plans to make meringues or whatever with them) and decided to give this a try. While the family liked it as a custard pie, it doesn't really quite qualify as a Chinese "don tot" recipe. After reading other reviews that the filling and crust are too sweet, I decreased the sugar to 1/2 c, and used a ready-made flaky crust. It was just sweet enough - although may not be sweet enough for others as I always try to make recipes healthier e.g., by reducing sugar and replacing oil with apple sauce, so we don't like very sweet desserts. I also made it into one large pie instead of small tarts. The temperature was too high, and was burning the crust and top, so I lowered it to 350 F / 175 C (convection oven). This photo is of the tart made on a whim so would've presented it better had we had guests :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I have never try it beforebut I will
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vipa Langlois

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
can't believe this got so many good reviews, the instructions are very hard to follow as it doesn't say how many egg to add in which of the egg adding steps, similar with the vanilla but that had less of an impact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Just made these for Chinese New Years dinner with my family. This was our first attempt making these and everyone approved - even Grandma! My suggestion would be to roll out the dough. We did just as the recipe and if the dough is too thick it's not as good. And this makes way more than 12 FYI!! I also prefer the filling to be a slight bit sweeter so I'll be adding more evaporated milk next time around. (we are Chinese by the way if that helps solidify my review!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The egg tarts turned out really good, we had way too much custard though, we had to make more dough for the crust about 3 more times. My friend and I originally wanted to make 24 egg tarts and we changed the servings from 12 to 24 but for some reason we had way too many, we ended up making about 80+ but it's also because we had small egg tarts so just be careful when you're adjusting the servings. For smaller ones you can bake them for about 11 min so they don't burn, overall they turned out great, next time I'll try and make the crust thinner and have more custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
had premade tarts and they worked out fine. also used half and half cream instead of evaporated milk. dont need to drive 100 km for egg tarts anymore lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oldina Wahlers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ridgeway, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Great. I made close to 40 minitarts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
First, the sugar is way too low. Second, the proportion is for way more than 12, maybe 24 or more. Third, the temperature is a bit high.*I did not use the recipe for the crust, only the filling. Maybe the crust is good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States