Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
The custard filling had little to no egg taste in it. Im guessing there was too much water. Did not taste like HK style egg tarts. There was also too much filling. Made a larger egg tart with an additional one third of the dough mixture. Substituted the egg potion with 1/3 of the filling. Crust turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Great recipe for the custard. For the crust I used a butter pastry tart crust recipe instead: 1 1/2 sifted all purpose flour 1/8 tsp salt 1/2 cup butter 1 egg yolk 2-3 tbsp cold water. Cut the butter into the flour and salt, then mix iwth the egg yolk. Gradually add water, then shape into a ball, roll out, and fit into tart pan. Very easy and much, much better crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I tried this recipe several days ago and it was delicious. I reduced the sugar in the dough and i should have increased the amount of sugar in the custard as the custard itself wasn't very sweet. Also, i only used 8 eggs (not 9 as the recipe suggested). Be prepared to have too much leftover custard and having to make a second batch of dough. Additional to that, i made about 20 tarts from this recipe - not 12 like the recipe said (maybe my shells were smaller). I would suggest cutting down the ingredients to the custard down to half (if you don't want to end up having to make 40 egg tarts - like i did! Now, everyone in the house is afraid of egg tarts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Tastes very authentic! - at least for the filling. I made this twice and both times the pastry turned out very hard (I dropped one on the floor by accident and it didn't even CRACK). I noticed that it baked faster than the filling - which made it difficult to gauge time. The first time I actually burned the pastry...in comparison to the other reviews, I feel like I might have made a mistake, but I followed the instructions as faithfully as possible. Maybe I'll try using premade tart shells C:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This recipe was okay. I found it very time consuming to make the pastry shells. I made them in muffin tins as suggested. The taste was okay, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
its good but it doesnt taste the way the restaurants do w/ their flakey dough. make sure you dont put too much or too little dough, i accidentally made my first batch too thick. i found that the filling recipe made a lot more filling that i actually needed. i also tried the egg tarts II recipe and found that it tastes alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzyb
Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
For the tart, I added only 1/2 a cup of confectioners sugar, and a little bit more then 1 cup of butter because at 1 cup my mixture was still a bit dry, but only add the extra butter little by little until you achieve the doughy texture. It also helps to roll out the dough batter and use big round cookie cutters to cut circles, that way the dough can be distributed more evenly around the whole tart cup. For the custard part, I added only 1/3 cup of sugar because my family doesn't like too sweet. But for me it actually wasn't sweet enough. Next time I will try under 1/2 a cup. Other then that, this was a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I only made the filling because I prefer using a crust recipe that includes lard which makes for a more flaky crust. I had previously tried another egg custard recipe where presentation wise the crust and filling looked exactly like the ones in the bakeries. The taste of the filling wasn't as tender as I would like it so I thought I would try this recipe. I was disappointed because this filling was worse than the other recipe. It was too stiff and eggy. I had baked the custard at first for 10 mins at 450F and then lowered it to 350 for additional time and the custard puffed up way too much and then collapsed when I took it out of the oven. A food expert online said baking egg custards at too high a temperature will cause the filling to bubble up and burst so next time I'm going to stick to the other recipe that calls for baking at 325F for 35 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Risa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Four stars as it was way too "eggy'. I used eight eggs [heh] and it was too eggy. But once chilled, it is pretty good, but I'd still only use seven eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This recipe is excellent! It was my first time making egg tarts, and they turned out wonderfully =). I used 1/2 cup of sugar and unsalted butter for the crust as some other users had suggested, and it was the perfect level of sweetness/saltiness - although I'm sure that differs depending on taste. I also found that setting the oven to 180 degrees C (356 degrees F) was enough for both the crust and filling to cook properly. Thank you for such a lovely recipe!=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States