Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
From reading the reviews, I reduced the eggs to 5 eggs and increased the crust ingredients by another half. I made 24 tarts using aluminum muffin pans. Results, mm mm good. I will try this recipe again, but completely substituting the water, vanilla extract, and evaporated milk with coconut milk and coconut extract to create a coconut custard tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunshinesweeti3
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was a good, easy recipe. Reading the other reviews about how there was too much filling, I altered my recipe a bit. And instead of making the crust myself, I used a box of Pillsbury pie crust. I used 1/2 cup white sugar, 1 cup water, 6 eggs and 1/2 cup evaporated milk. This was enough for 20-22 egg tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I made this for the first time today, and I must say that it turned out the way it did because of the help I got with the reviews. Because several of them noted that there would be too much leftover filling, I decided to make more of the crust. I ended up changing the serving size to 14 custard tarts instead of 12.. which ultimately yielded TWENTY FOUR. Instead of adding the recommended amount of sugar for 14 tarts, I ended up just adding 1 cup since I read that it was too sweet, anyway, for 12 tarts. With the filling, I added 1/2 cups of sugar, which turned out really well! I also turned the oven temperature down to 400F and set the timer for 25 minutes. I think I might try setting it higher (less than 450F, still) and bake it for less time. Overall, this is a great recipe.. but with a few tweaks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
i'm so glad i stumbled upon this recipe! egg tarts are one of my favorite dishes of dim sum and now i can make them at home! i didnt have tart pans so i put the dough into a cupcake tin. it worked well except i made the crust too thick so there was too much of the crust and not enough eggy goodness. can't wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I tried this recipe today & it got down quite well. However, several things require changes. I tried mixing butter & sugar together first, it was easier that way, to add the flour later. 190-200oC, the tarts turn out just right. Adding a little water, about a table spoon does help in making the dough. Using a forks to press the sides also helps in making it physical appealing. The egg tart filling is way too much, halving it would be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
The custard filling had little to no egg taste in it. Im guessing there was too much water. Did not taste like HK style egg tarts. There was also too much filling. Made a larger egg tart with an additional one third of the dough mixture. Substituted the egg potion with 1/3 of the filling. Crust turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Great recipe for the custard. For the crust I used a butter pastry tart crust recipe instead: 1 1/2 sifted all purpose flour 1/8 tsp salt 1/2 cup butter 1 egg yolk 2-3 tbsp cold water. Cut the butter into the flour and salt, then mix iwth the egg yolk. Gradually add water, then shape into a ball, roll out, and fit into tart pan. Very easy and much, much better crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I tried this recipe several days ago and it was delicious. I reduced the sugar in the dough and i should have increased the amount of sugar in the custard as the custard itself wasn't very sweet. Also, i only used 8 eggs (not 9 as the recipe suggested). Be prepared to have too much leftover custard and having to make a second batch of dough. Additional to that, i made about 20 tarts from this recipe - not 12 like the recipe said (maybe my shells were smaller). I would suggest cutting down the ingredients to the custard down to half (if you don't want to end up having to make 40 egg tarts - like i did! Now, everyone in the house is afraid of egg tarts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Tastes very authentic! - at least for the filling. I made this twice and both times the pastry turned out very hard (I dropped one on the floor by accident and it didn't even CRACK). I noticed that it baked faster than the filling - which made it difficult to gauge time. The first time I actually burned the pastry...in comparison to the other reviews, I feel like I might have made a mistake, but I followed the instructions as faithfully as possible. Maybe I'll try using premade tart shells C:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This recipe was okay. I found it very time consuming to make the pastry shells. I made them in muffin tins as suggested. The taste was okay, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States