Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
The dough was too dry for me.. It was hard to shape them as they were crumbling and falling apart. The custard could be a little sweeter, add more if you are using brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
perfect. i baked the tarts in pie pans, after a hankering for egg pie. found that making a wash over the edge of the crust made it nice and crunchy texture. hits the spot for a midnight snack :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Love these! Very close to the "dan tat's" sold at the chinese bakeries and it reminds me of when I was little and my parents would come home with them!! The house smells wonderful while they're baking. I used 7 eggs and the only sugar I had in the house was organic cane sugar, they still turned out great! Temperature wise, I baked them at 400 degrees for about 14 min and then lowered to 350 degrees for another 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Pie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I took the previous reviews seriously when using this recipe. Here is what I did, and how it turned out: -I made the full amount of dough. Yes it was very much like a sugar cookie, but my guests and I liked it -I halved the filling, and it was the perfect amount for the dough. -I made enough tarts for 12 regular muffin tins and 1 small/medium ramekin -I used 2% evaporated milk -The tarts needed more than 20 minutes (possibly because I used deeper muffin tins) but the crust was getting dark, so I lowered the temp to 350 and covered them. I left them in for 10 more minutes. Some of the filling still seemed a bit liquidy but I took them out anyway. -Even after an overnight in the fridge, most of the tarts had about a teaspoon full of liquid on top, but it didn't matter at all. -I served these to 4 other women and three of them went for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
A nice recipe, but as other discovered, there was much more custard filling than tart dough (about twice as much). On the other hand, I think my tart dough that I used in the regular sized muffin pan (12 tarts in all) had dough that was too thick. The ones I made in the mini-muffin pan were much better. If i had stretched out the dough a bit more, I probably could have made more tarts. I initially started with a mini-muffin tin that made 12, and these came out well. My oven finished these in about 12 minutes, and they came out pretty much as described (the filling puffs up a bit). My second batch was a bigger mini-muffin tin that made 24, so it took closer to 16 minutes to make, but these ended up being nicer. At this point, I ran out of dough, but had plenty of filling, so I made another batch of dough as described and pressed them into the regular sized muffin tin that makes 12. With the thicker dough and deeper fillings, the tart took much longer to cook, but the crust started to brown before the filling was ready. In my case I ended up baking them for 22 minutes, but near the end I started turning the temp down to avoid burning the crust. In the future, I'll have to thin out the dough and reduce the temp, while cooking a bit longer to make sure these come out as nicely as I like them. I started with cutting the butter into the sugar-flour mixture, but ended up using my hands, which were much better at making the small crumbs described. All in all, tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
From reading the reviews, I reduced the eggs to 5 eggs and increased the crust ingredients by another half. I made 24 tarts using aluminum muffin pans. Results, mm mm good. I will try this recipe again, but completely substituting the water, vanilla extract, and evaporated milk with coconut milk and coconut extract to create a coconut custard tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunshinesweeti3
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was a good, easy recipe. Reading the other reviews about how there was too much filling, I altered my recipe a bit. And instead of making the crust myself, I used a box of Pillsbury pie crust. I used 1/2 cup white sugar, 1 cup water, 6 eggs and 1/2 cup evaporated milk. This was enough for 20-22 egg tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I made this for the first time today, and I must say that it turned out the way it did because of the help I got with the reviews. Because several of them noted that there would be too much leftover filling, I decided to make more of the crust. I ended up changing the serving size to 14 custard tarts instead of 12.. which ultimately yielded TWENTY FOUR. Instead of adding the recommended amount of sugar for 14 tarts, I ended up just adding 1 cup since I read that it was too sweet, anyway, for 12 tarts. With the filling, I added 1/2 cups of sugar, which turned out really well! I also turned the oven temperature down to 400F and set the timer for 25 minutes. I think I might try setting it higher (less than 450F, still) and bake it for less time. Overall, this is a great recipe.. but with a few tweaks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
i'm so glad i stumbled upon this recipe! egg tarts are one of my favorite dishes of dim sum and now i can make them at home! i didnt have tart pans so i put the dough into a cupcake tin. it worked well except i made the crust too thick so there was too much of the crust and not enough eggy goodness. can't wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I tried this recipe today & it got down quite well. However, several things require changes. I tried mixing butter & sugar together first, it was easier that way, to add the flour later. 190-200oC, the tarts turn out just right. Adding a little water, about a table spoon does help in making the dough. Using a forks to press the sides also helps in making it physical appealing. The egg tart filling is way too much, halving it would be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States