Honey's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I usually rate recipes I have followed exactly, but I must say this is an amazing butter cake! I just rate it 4 stars because I change the flavor. Doing the basic batter I omited the cinamon part and used blueberries and orange zest. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Very moist, and yummy! I used a cup of milk that I soured with a tablespoon of vinegar, since I had no sour cream - was just throwing together something with what I had in the cupboard - this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
delicious cake. i paired it with the "outrageously buttery crumb cake" crumb topping and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaddysBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
The fact that the cinnamon-sugar mixture turned hard and crunchy is enough to call this recipe a failure in my opinion. The cake itself is beautiful (until you cut into it), moist and delicious and the cinnamon mixture would undoubtedly have worked better had it been cut in half and then swirled into the batter - but that's not what the recipe directs, unfortunately. The cake could have been salvaged, I suppose, if it was "just" for family, but since the crunchy middle caused the cake to break apart as you cut it, there was no way I would have Hubs bring this to a business meeting tomorrow as was my intent. The cake was tossed, which obviously was very disappointing. This is a case where I wished I would have read the reviews BEFORE I made the recipe. Since the cake is not a success as written, without significant changes, I can only rate it "one star" and caution others before making this cake using the recipe as written. I have to assume that those reviewers who rated this recipe higher and loved it were rating a modified version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Loved this cake! I added Lemon juice and zest and skipped the cinnamon & sugar mixture. Mine came out dense like a pound cake. I frosted it with lemon butter cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
A Would-Be 5-Star Cake (I'll get to the why in a sec.) First, it's been suggested, but make sure you spend a lot of time creaming the *very* soft butter and the sugar. It's par for the course with pound-type cakes, but worth sharing. I left the butter out overnight and creamed by hand for 30 minutes. Absolutely worth it. The crumb was perfect. Moist and buttery - almost fluffy - but still dense as a pound cake should be. Kudos to the recipe for the ingredients' proportions. They're dead-on. Now, onto the dark side. The cake recipe proportions are perfecto, BUT the filling might be overkill. Also, merely dumping it in the middle of the cake batter, and then pouring batter on top ain't always gonna cut it. Some technique is required to keep the sugar from seeping to the sides while baking. When that happens, the sugar caramelizes, sticks to your greased pan and dismembers portions of your otherwise perfect cake when you flip that sucker over to remove the cake. Just sayin'. I suggest going halves on the sugar filling, using a teaspoon to incorporate the stuff only in the very middle of the batter, and then slicing through it with a knife to keep the sugar line in-check and relatively thin. Enjoy, and thanks for the recipe. It's a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIGHTSTARRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This recipe was a buzzkill, to say the least. The cake was a decent coffee-cake-like base, so I can't complain about that. However, the filling turned into a rock-hard cinnamon/sugar brick. Perhaps if you reduce the 1 cup to 1/4 cup it would be better, but I made the mistake of following this recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This recipe tasted great, like a snickerdoodle cake. However it only gets 4 stars because the cinnamon sugar layer turned out hard as a rock. Next time I'll make it in a 9x13 and mix in the layer a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icooknaked

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This cake was amazing! I followed the recipe exactly. It's good with cream cheese frosting (from a tub) spread over the top while still warm. It melts into the cake and makes a nice glaze. But it's just as good without any glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Superase
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Great Recipe! I had a piece of the cake this morning and it was so good. I made it last night and let it sit the night...really good. When i was making it i ended up running out of all-purpose flour so i had to use self-rising for the rest of the recipe. The cake still turned out great! I did make an icing, melted butter and powdered suger. It was so yummy! The cake would have been yummy with out it but i like sweets. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States