Honeyed Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Very tasty. I was looking for a way to use up some stew beef I had in the freezer but didn't want to make that potatoes and carrots gravy type stew during the heat of summer. I followed the recipe almost to a tee except I didn't brown the meat and cooked it in the slow cooker, used sherry for half the water amount, used bottled lemon juice, and added the pineapple as other reviewers had suggested. I also added some cornstarch towards the end to thicken the sauce a bit. I will definetly make this again. But be warned these surprisingly small amounts of honey, lemon juice, mustard and ketchup do make for a subtle sweet and sour, oriental type sauce and it isn't at all what you expect for "stew". Next time I think I will dust the meat with flour or cornstarch. Yes, serve with rice, set the places with chopsticks and pass the soy sauce. Tell hubby it's "pepper steak" and forget the word "stew".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is in the oven right now; based on the good aroma I'd say that this is going to taste like a "5". I plan to serve it tomorrow over brown rice. Update: I doubled the sauce ingredients and left the stew uncovered for about 20 mins - that was enough to thicken it to a very nice stew-y consistency. Definitely a keeper recipe for stew that's a little different than the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This was great, I used vinegar instead of lemon juice. I didnt put in peppers or mustard because I dont have, or like either one of them! I did add some garlic powder. I think this recipe would be really good with broccoli in it so I will add that the next time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MEGGAN1
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Absolutely delicious! What a great pair of sweet and spicey! I added things that I had in the house,....potatoes, zucchini and orange bell pepper instead of green. Doubt I'll ever try another stew again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGGAN1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Super easy and delicious. I lowered the cooking temp and let it bake all afternoon. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
This has become a new favorite at our house. It is easy, and perfect for gloomy winter days. It's great served over steamed rice. I usually wait to add the green pepper until near the end of cooking, to prevent it from getting too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I loved the sweet and sour taste of this. I didn't have any lemon juice on hand, so I substituted it for pure malt vinegar. Next time I think I might add pieces of pineapple to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Great recipe! Me and my mother really enjoyed it. I left the lemon juice out, but it still tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETTY_KITTY84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This was much better than I thought it would be. I especially liked the honey and lemon flavor. I served this over brown rice, but next time I will cook 1 cup of rice in the pot since there was so much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
MADE FOR MY FAMILY! THEIR WERE NO LEFTOVERS!!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States