Honeydew Blueberry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
Very, very easy. Very, very good. I could not believe this only had three ingredients. I had my honeydew chilled in the fridge before I cut it up so this cut some of the chilling time down. Also, I tried without the oatmeal cookie and while it was very good, the cookie added a little something extra. Plan to try it with an iced oatmeal cookie in a few minutes to see how that goes. Everyone loved this and I will be making many more times. Also, I took one cookie and shredded it instead of crumbling and it absorbed the moisture too much. Make them big crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
The soup itself was pretty good! I just prefer not to put in the blueberries next time. I tried putting in strawberries in as well and that ended up working out really well! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
This soup was soooo good! I used graham crackers instead of cookies and got really excited thinking about all the variations that you can do with different types of cookies and crackers--chocolate graham crackers, ginger snaps, animal cookies...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
It's amazing what a great taste the oatmeal cookies added to it. A perfect blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I used this recipe as a jumping off point for a variation. My goal was to recreate the taste of a soup I had on a cruise. Here are my changes. I added about 1/2 cup of plain whole milk yogurt and approx 1/4 cup sugar to the honeydew in the blender. Then I strained the puree through a mesh colander to thin out the slightly grainy texture of the soup. Finally, I used blackberries instead of blueberries (only because blueberries weren't in season) and left off the cookie (because I didn't have one and because I think the thinner soup wouldn't support a cookie crumble). I like the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I loved this because it was a great starting point. I did the honeydew with blackberries, awesome, thank you! I was not a fan of the cookie. I added a little honey to mine and put just a touch of sour cream on top. One was a great foil for the other. I found that I liked cantelope better with the blue berries. I added just a touch of Brandy to the mix, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
An easy-to-make refreshing soup, perfect for a hot day. I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars because I found the blueberry/honeydew combination to be slightly bland. Replacing the blueberries w/ some other berry that has a stronger flavor, such as strawberries or raspberries, would be great. I used gingersnap granola instead of crumbled oatmeal cookies, and it worked out very well. Anything crunchy, sweet, and preferably w/ a bit of a gingery/spice kick would be good. This would be great for breakfast or dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
This was perfect for a hot summer day. The oarmeal cookies on the top really complemented this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This was a great recipe. I substituted rasberries for blueberries because that's all I had - and It was really tasty! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
simple and good. i sprinkled a little bit of ginger on top, along with the cookie, and it tasted great! i might add plain or vanilla yogurt next time to make it a little less grainy, but otherwise the recipe is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States