Honeydew Blueberry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
It's amazing what a great taste the oatmeal cookies added to it. A perfect blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
The soup itself was pretty good! I just prefer not to put in the blueberries next time. I tried putting in strawberries in as well and that ended up working out really well! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
This soup was soooo good! I used graham crackers instead of cookies and got really excited thinking about all the variations that you can do with different types of cookies and crackers--chocolate graham crackers, ginger snaps, animal cookies...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
Very, very easy. Very, very good. I could not believe this only had three ingredients. I had my honeydew chilled in the fridge before I cut it up so this cut some of the chilling time down. Also, I tried without the oatmeal cookie and while it was very good, the cookie added a little something extra. Plan to try it with an iced oatmeal cookie in a few minutes to see how that goes. Everyone loved this and I will be making many more times. Also, I took one cookie and shredded it instead of crumbling and it absorbed the moisture too much. Make them big crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This was a great recipe. I substituted rasberries for blueberries because that's all I had - and It was really tasty! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
This was perfect for a hot summer day. The oarmeal cookies on the top really complemented this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I didn't like this even though I do like all of the ingredients. Maybe I didn't chill it long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
An easy-to-make refreshing soup, perfect for a hot day. I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars because I found the blueberry/honeydew combination to be slightly bland. Replacing the blueberries w/ some other berry that has a stronger flavor, such as strawberries or raspberries, would be great. I used gingersnap granola instead of crumbled oatmeal cookies, and it worked out very well. Anything crunchy, sweet, and preferably w/ a bit of a gingery/spice kick would be good. This would be great for breakfast or dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I used this recipe as a jumping off point for a variation. My goal was to recreate the taste of a soup I had on a cruise. Here are my changes. I added about 1/2 cup of plain whole milk yogurt and approx 1/4 cup sugar to the honeydew in the blender. Then I strained the puree through a mesh colander to thin out the slightly grainy texture of the soup. Finally, I used blackberries instead of blueberries (only because blueberries weren't in season) and left off the cookie (because I didn't have one and because I think the thinner soup wouldn't support a cookie crumble). I like the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I loved this because it was a great starting point. I did the honeydew with blackberries, awesome, thank you! I was not a fan of the cookie. I added a little honey to mine and put just a touch of sour cream on top. One was a great foil for the other. I found that I liked cantelope better with the blue berries. I added just a touch of Brandy to the mix, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States