Honeydew Blueberry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I used this recipe as a jumping off point for a variation. My goal was to recreate the taste of a soup I had on a cruise. Here are my changes. I added about 1/2 cup of plain whole milk yogurt and approx 1/4 cup sugar to the honeydew in the blender. Then I strained the puree through a mesh colander to thin out the slightly grainy texture of the soup. Finally, I used blackberries instead of blueberries (only because blueberries weren't in season) and left off the cookie (because I didn't have one and because I think the thinner soup wouldn't support a cookie crumble). I like the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
An easy-to-make refreshing soup, perfect for a hot day. I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars because I found the blueberry/honeydew combination to be slightly bland. Replacing the blueberries w/ some other berry that has a stronger flavor, such as strawberries or raspberries, would be great. I used gingersnap granola instead of crumbled oatmeal cookies, and it worked out very well. Anything crunchy, sweet, and preferably w/ a bit of a gingery/spice kick would be good. This would be great for breakfast or dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I didn't like this even though I do like all of the ingredients. Maybe I didn't chill it long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
This was perfect for a hot summer day. The oarmeal cookies on the top really complemented this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This was a great recipe. I substituted rasberries for blueberries because that's all I had - and It was really tasty! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
Very, very easy. Very, very good. I could not believe this only had three ingredients. I had my honeydew chilled in the fridge before I cut it up so this cut some of the chilling time down. Also, I tried without the oatmeal cookie and while it was very good, the cookie added a little something extra. Plan to try it with an iced oatmeal cookie in a few minutes to see how that goes. Everyone loved this and I will be making many more times. Also, I took one cookie and shredded it instead of crumbling and it absorbed the moisture too much. Make them big crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
This soup was soooo good! I used graham crackers instead of cookies and got really excited thinking about all the variations that you can do with different types of cookies and crackers--chocolate graham crackers, ginger snaps, animal cookies...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
The soup itself was pretty good! I just prefer not to put in the blueberries next time. I tried putting in strawberries in as well and that ended up working out really well! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
It's amazing what a great taste the oatmeal cookies added to it. A perfect blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States