Honey Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
As written, it is pretty decent other than the salt ratio was off so I used a tsp. This bread as written wasn't my favorite. The second time I made it though it came out outstanding. We like a sweeter wheat so I used about 1/4 of a cup of honey, I also used more wheat flour like the other reviewers- 2 cups wheat, 1 cup bread flour and still 1tsp of salt. It was loved by my family and is always requested. I love this recipe was easy to customize. I would rate a 4.5 because of the lack of salt, it really does add to the final loaf and it could mess a newbie bread cook up. But other than that fabulous! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Could I make this without a bread machine?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This is my bread staple. I do add more honey as per other comments. Great bread toasted. I always get comments from my co-workers about how good it smells while toasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I've made this bread many, many times. I follow the other reviewers suggestions and use 1 cup white bread four and 2 cups whole wheat flour. I also increase the salt to 3/4 tsp. and use 1/2 canola oil and 1/2 olive oil. This bread is wonderful! Try it, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This appears to be an excellent bread the flavour is fabulous, BUT I have a problem, the bread is not rising and is dipping in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hellen Meiring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Very good! My husband took one bite and said, "this is good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Great bread. Used 2 cups whole wheat, 1 cup white flour, and 1/4 cup honey instead of 3 tbls. Result was really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Nice bread. I followed recipe exactly and I can definitely taste the honey... Next time, I'll increase the amount of Wheat to Bread flour ratio, as I think a more dominant wheat flavor would be good. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I add one more tablespoon honey taking out one TBS of water and add one tea spoon butter.It comes out more sweet and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This recipe is great! I followed others suggestions and increased the honey and the salt... it turned out great and my kids can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States