Honey Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I liked this recipe a lot! It is THE one I will be using for my wheat bread from now on. I recently received a Breadman bread making machine. I have to say, it is the best I have ever had. This particular recipe is almost exactly the same as the one for whole wheat bread in the machine recipe book. I made a couple changes, having read the other reviews. I used 1/2 cup honey, 1 tsp. salt, then after experimenting with this recipe, I decided to used 2 cups whole wheat flour, and 1 1/2 cups bread flour, because I the machine is larger and also because I found to improve the wheat taste of the bread. The texture of this bread, whether done my way or as written is excellent. The temperature of the water is crucial, in my opinion. I used canola oil instead of vegetable, to make it a little healthier, or at least I thought it would. :) Next time I shall run the dough cycle only and bake it in the oven. I did this when I added raisins to the mix for a raisin wheat bread. Although I did not like the taste at all fresh out of the oven. After it had sat and cooled for a day, I toasted a thick slice, just so as not to waste it. It was quite good. I will be doing it again. I found that eating it without butter or margarine is preferable to my taste. I also put a light coating of 10X sugar and milk on the loaves fresh out of the oven. Definitely a keeper. So many ways to adapt this basic recipe. Thank you so much for sharing & all the reviewers for sharing their experiences!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittlDuck15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I thought this was really good. I did make the changes many had suggested. I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 1 cup bread flour. I upped the honey to 1/4 cup and added 1 tsp salt. I also used butter instead of oil. I baked this in the oven instead of my bread maker. It rose nicely, I did 2 rises, the 2nd in the loaf pan. The bread came out beautiful and tastes so good with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Very good bread. I did make some changes. I only used wheat flour, added some vital wheat gluten, and reduced the honey to 2 Tbs. I'm making 4 loaves a week now, as this has become our everyday bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie D'oh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Loved it. Updating the review. A few changes were made increase water to 1 1/4 cups, decrease yeast to 1 1/4 tsp and decreased salt to 1/4 tsp. In the break maker pan I measured the water then added the honey then the yeast. I allowed it to sit for about 1 mintue then added the remaining ingredients. I set my bread maker and set the timer for medium loaf which has a 4 hour setting. After 2 hours I divided equal into 2 small loaf pans. Poofed in warm place for 1 hour and then baked in a 350 degree oven for about 17 minutes. This has been my go to recipe for brown bread for the last couple of months now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This turned out perfectly. I bought whole wheat berries and ground them in the coffee grinder to make the whole wheat flour. Used 1 1/4 cup of whole wheat and then used 1/4 cup ground flax seed and then the regular amount of bread flour. Also substituted butter for oil and upped the salt to tsp. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Is the original recipe really only for a one lb loaf of bread? I doubled it because I wanted a two pound loaf and it completely exploded out of my bread maker. I'll try it again with the original recipe because of the great reviews, but I am highly disappointed in this :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I have made this a number of times and it always turns out great! It is my go to bread and I sometimes tweak it to 2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup all purpose flour and it still turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This bread is phenomenal. I tweaked it slightly - 1/4 cup (plus a tbsp) of honey, 2 cups whole wheat flour and one cup bread flour, and then I use two tbsp butter instead of oil. I make a loaf every week - it's amazing with my grandma's homemade jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
YUM! I did add the 1/4c honey, 1 tsp salt, the butter instead of oil, the 2c wheat flour and 1 cup bread flour changes. VERY Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Tookthe review advice and added more honey 1/4 cup and chnaged flour to 2 cups wheat flour abd1 cup bread Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States