Honey Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very yummy! I used all whole wheat flour (sifted) and did not have 7 grain cereal so I used 1/4 cup of oats, 1/4 cup of sunflower seeds and a 1/4 cup of flax seeds (ground). It turned out to be a very healthy, hearty and flavorful bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I followed the advice of more salt and more honey in the comments area. This is an excellent bread. Having a slice now with margarine and a drizzle of honey and it's DEEEE-LISH!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Well I made even more modifications. I used whole wheat flour ONLY (no white flour, no bread flour). I replaced the water with 1 and 1/8 cups warmed whole milk. And used 2 teaspoons of bread machine yeast. I used the 1/4 cup honey and 2 tablespoons of melted butter and the full 1 teaspoon of salt. I set the machine to rapid bread cycle and waited. We had trouble restraining ourselves to wait even 5 minutes after this came from the machine to cut it but it was no matter. It was INCREDIBLE! I was not sure how it would turn out at all and was prepared to have wasted the ingredients since I made so many modifications. But this is a very forgiving bread, evidently...and did I mention incredible? It's been done for almost a half hour and is nearly gone now. I'll have to make another loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callinectes Sapidus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I added 3 tablespoons of Vital Wheat Gluten, increase salt to 1 teaspoon, I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour, and 1 cup of bread flour. The bread rised nicely and fluffly. For the twist, I added 1 and half tablespoons of cocoa powder, the bread came out to be very dark in colour with a hint of chocolate. Very nice recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bleuettr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Yummy! I added the extra honey...1/4 c. And 1tsp salt. Also used 2 c. Whole wheat flour and 1 c. All purpose. It is moist and my 3 year old will not stop asking for more honey bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe! I use my bread machine to make the dough, but I don't really like the shape of the bread if I bake it in the machine so I put it in a bread pan to rise for an hour. Bake at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes. Always comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahalley

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
awesome! I used half water and half milk and a bit more honey. Then I made rolls with the dough. They were the best Ive ever made. My boyfriend ate half the rolls with blueberry jam before they were even cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Good bread with a great texture. I personally feel that the writen yeast amounts are too small, so I increased it to 2.25 tsp and 1 tsp salt and it almost overflowed my bread maker. My mistake, but the texture was amazing, and I'm pretty sure that the extra yeast got it there. The extra salt was to moderate yeast activity, but I guess I have some healthy yeast in the kitchen right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I make all my own bread, and this is the recipe I use to do it. This recipe exactly as written is fabulous. I chose it because it is whole wheat, has less sugar and less oil than most other recipes. The taste and texture are fabulous, and my family and I love it. I won't eat store bought bread now unless I have to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I think I have finally found the "sandwich" bread I have been looking for! I did change to 2 cups whole wheat and 1 cup bread flour but only because I like to get as many whole grains into the family I possibly can. I have made a loaf a day for about a week now and nobody has asked for store bought because they are so happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States