Honey Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I added 3 tablespoons of Vital Wheat Gluten, increase salt to 1 teaspoon, I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour, and 1 cup of bread flour. The bread rised nicely and fluffly. For the twist, I added 1 and half tablespoons of cocoa powder, the bread came out to be very dark in colour with a hint of chocolate. Very nice recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bleuettr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Yummy! I added the extra honey...1/4 c. And 1tsp salt. Also used 2 c. Whole wheat flour and 1 c. All purpose. It is moist and my 3 year old will not stop asking for more honey bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe! I use my bread machine to make the dough, but I don't really like the shape of the bread if I bake it in the machine so I put it in a bread pan to rise for an hour. Bake at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes. Always comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahalley

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
awesome! I used half water and half milk and a bit more honey. Then I made rolls with the dough. They were the best Ive ever made. My boyfriend ate half the rolls with blueberry jam before they were even cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Good bread with a great texture. I personally feel that the writen yeast amounts are too small, so I increased it to 2.25 tsp and 1 tsp salt and it almost overflowed my bread maker. My mistake, but the texture was amazing, and I'm pretty sure that the extra yeast got it there. The extra salt was to moderate yeast activity, but I guess I have some healthy yeast in the kitchen right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I make all my own bread, and this is the recipe I use to do it. This recipe exactly as written is fabulous. I chose it because it is whole wheat, has less sugar and less oil than most other recipes. The taste and texture are fabulous, and my family and I love it. I won't eat store bought bread now unless I have to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I think I have finally found the "sandwich" bread I have been looking for! I did change to 2 cups whole wheat and 1 cup bread flour but only because I like to get as many whole grains into the family I possibly can. I have made a loaf a day for about a week now and nobody has asked for store bought because they are so happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
My husband loves this bread! I use my bread machine and end up making two loaves out of this by using the dough setting my my machine. I then bake in the oven. Great Bread! Easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This bread was great! I was leary because I haven't had good luck with bread machine recipes other than those that came with my bread machine. The bread was fluffy and moist and tasted great with just butter on it. I increased the honey to 1/4 cup and used 2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup white bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Excellent loaf of bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States